Renault Clio physics is wrong

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by benoityip, Nov 7, 2012.

1. benoityip

benoityip Registered

I have been doing 10+ track days in real life in my FWD car (Toyota Corolla Hatch, similar to Toyota Matrix in US) with modifications, it has weight distribution of 65:35 with all back seats stripped off, power is 167hp at the crank, weight is 1220kg including driver, so the chasis characteristics is comparable to the renault except it has lower power

Current set up of my car
    1. Front suspension - coilover with 4kg spring, 25 mm anti roll bar, -2.2 camber
    2. Rear suspension - coilover with 4kg spring, 20mm anti roll bar, -1.2 camber
    3. Toyo R888 Semi-slicks
    4. No back seats, spares, and no passenger seat, no roll cage

In this set up, the car is very neutral, lift off steering is not bad even at 165km/h at the corner (fastest corner in my life so far)

and I have been doing rfactor, gtr2, for many years..

Today I just downloaded rfactor 2

I was shocked by the physics of renault cilo in the game

1. The lift off oversteering was too much, and I thought the car has rear anti roll bar setting up too much, but when go to the set up and see the rear anti roll bar is detached, I am so suprised, with the amount of lift off oversteering of the car in the game, I orginally estimate the rear anti roll bar is at least 4mm thicker than the front based on my real life experience. Even the stock Cilo has rear anti-roll bar set.. FF car without rear anti-roll bar will understeer very badly

2. Many people I know has set up the front suspension harder than the rear in a FWD car, you can check for the coilover spring rate for FWD car, it is around 2kg heavier at the front.. In the game, I am suprised to see the rear spring rate is significatly higher than the front