Very high poly testing

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jtbo, Jul 27, 2012.

1. jtbo

jtbo Registered

I wanted to know how high poly car you can put into rF2, with bit over 150 000 polys I still get constant 60fps as long as I keep track detail low, my gfx card starts to run out of memory. Actually I can't test with more than 1 AI car because I run out of GFX memory (512MB), but as long as memory is not running out performance seem to be rather nice.

With better hardware it should not be problem to use such high poly cars for screenshot purposes, maybe even for movies if movie maker similar to replay fridge is introduced.

I had 2048x2048 textures for body and windows, then few other 1024 and 512 textures with car, not very well mapped as it was just a test (and because I'm not very good at mapping), but it was facinating to see that no matter how close you did look, those wheel arches were perfectly smooth and life like.

Has others done similar tests, where are the limits?
    I start to think that engine has no limit in this, only hardware, 128GB gfx cards might make some silly things possible, so waiting for that next :p

2. Tuttle

Tuttle Technical Art Director - Env Lead

I'm testing my LOD0 Dallara F309 with 170.000K tris; no problems at all on a midrange old HD6870. Tried a race with 20 cars on the track (without LODs, just LOD0), and I get 30fps without problems on maxed out settings and 60fps with standard AA instead SSAA.

Considering a lot of polys are for interiors and spindle/brakes/calipers/mechanical parts, I'm pretty confident for a good margin for the final optimization with proper Lods, keeping the max resolution just for screenshots and closeup views.

[​IMG]

Of course If we get problems with FPS hits after the release for the public beta testing, I'll roll back to a lower resolution...:)

Last edited by a moderator: Jul 27, 2012
  3. jtbo

jtbo Registered