Rfactor2 The VR thread -settings & tips

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Adrianstealth, Apr 30, 2017.

  1. Hazi

    Hazi Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    917
    Likes Received:
    146
    Same here - DK2 - 970GTX - I7 - running in VR really working well - using Barbagallo (short Track!) with uphill and downhill sections, that`s where VR shines - is totally different to flat 2D - and using the USF 2000 with 9 AIs. I know it`s maybe a bit high but I used everything track related + opponents at HIGH even used both reflections on LOW and shadows on HIGH (!!) - no AA AF at x4 feels even smoother after changing Pixeld. from 1.4 to 1.2 (1.4 was great) - that was before todays update - no time for testing today. Thanks 2 whole S 397 Team!!
    Edit: forgot - mirrors off - !!!

    Tried Indy too and had running shadows at level Max - went back to shadows high and running shadows where not noticable??!!

     
    Last edited: May 10, 2017
    bravotangosix and TheMattyOnline like this.
  2. bravotangosix

    bravotangosix Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    277
    We might need a specific DK2 settings thread at this rate. Any takers? :)
     
    TheMattyOnline likes this.
  3. Tom Satherley

    Tom Satherley Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    22
    Vive with 1080 ti here. What stutter do you see in the vive? Head movement stutter? Or stutter in the animations/moving objects (relative to the camera)?

    I have a feeling what you're seeing is asynchronous reprojection activating. Asyn reproj doesn't seem to work properly in RF2 in that it activates even when you're way above 90fps, and induces the stutter which is an artifact of the reprojection itself. What you should do is disable async reprojection (interleaved if it's on as well) and enable 'always on' reprojection (steamVR -> settings -> advanced). Then select settings that comfortably keeps you above 90fps. Butter smooth. I would hope 397 will look into the async reprojection issue because it's useful to have it on so it can smooth out any random dropped frames
     
  4. Pablo11

    Pablo11 Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2015
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    12
    Hi
    I just got oculus and trying to setup .
    Everything works i lower the graphics to minimum and will be going up slowly.
    I try to see my fps and when pressing ctrl plus f i dont see it there . Is that not working with vr?
     
  5. Adrianstealth

    Adrianstealth Registered

    Joined:
    May 28, 2012
    Messages:
    4,578
    Likes Received:
    1,072
    I've not seen fps inside the vr but it appears on the top left hand corner of the monitor ( so I peek under whilst testing )

    Shoot for constant easy 90fps
    Then lower your pc settings again a tad even after that
     
  6. Magus

    Magus Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    557
    @Pablo11 you can run the oculus tray tool & enable the performance overlay. yes you have a huge graph imposed over your view but it is a great way to see you fps and your overheads. However, the problem is that you may fine tune your settings for one combination of car and track, it's not going to work for another. As Adrian states, once you have your stable 90fps, best bet is to lower the settings beyond that just to give yourself headroom for a more taxing combination.
     
  7. Pablo11

    Pablo11 Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2015
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    12
    Thanks guys . One more thing .
    On my monitor i see the same what i see in vr like a mirror screen and when i take my vr off the whole screen on my monitor moves and turns .
    Also I dont see the fps displayed there as well.
    How can i set this up so it doesnt move when i take off my vr and display my fps?
     
  8. Milopapa

    Milopapa Registered

    Joined:
    May 3, 2017
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    39
    It's either or.
    You can't have both 2D and VR mode active at the same time. The screen is acting like a mirror for most VR apps - if you think about it, it would add a third perspective for your computer to render if it was a regular 2D view. More load.

    EDIT: to check your fps, enable "Display Frame Data" in SteamVR's performance tab then check "display in headset" and it will be attached to the backside of your controller.
    That will give you frametime, not fps, but basically anything below 11ms is 90fps (it's a reciprocal relation, 1000/frametime = fps).
     
  9. whip

    whip Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    35
    the only way would be to have a system like Assetto corsa has, where the menus are displayed on a normal monitor like any other game and the vr is only used when you go to race, (i actually quite like this approach because it gives your face a chance to breath regularly, and menus are always better on a screen than in the hmd)
     
  10. The Iron Wolf

    The Iron Wolf Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2016
    Messages:
    984
    Likes Received:
    984
    In case S397 reads this, I have to respectfully disagree, I do not like taking off my headset to access menu and hope this won't be the case with the new menu (at least, without option to choose). In fact, I am quite content with current menu and would rather spend dev resources on fixing bugs. Although sure, if we want to develop rF2 into more online game like iRacing/R3E, we indeed need new menu. Nothing personal, just voicing my perspective.
     
    PaulG likes this.
  11. Milopapa

    Milopapa Registered

    Joined:
    May 3, 2017
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    39
    I agree, Kunos is just being lazy with their VR implementation missing the UI. The best solution is something like in Project cars where the menu is projected in the air and you can use your wheel / controller (even gaze) to navigate the menu, set up a race, launch it etc.
    I don't want to take off the headset: it takes some wiggling around to make it sit comfortable. I also don't want to be reaching for a mouse, that changes my seating position.
     
    The Iron Wolf likes this.
  12. The Iron Wolf

    The Iron Wolf Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2016
    Messages:
    984
    Likes Received:
    984
    Exactly. The clean, not lazy implementation is in Dirt Rally as well. But again, menu is last thing I would ask - I am fine with the current and R3E did the same, just display normal menu which is fine by me. In my setup, monitor is away from the wheel, so I can't even see it.
     
  13. elbo

    elbo Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    182
    I disagree, the AC implementation means you can use something like Virtual Desktop to stay in the headset and browse the menus, additionally it means you could keep the headset on and look at other stuff like motec.
     
  14. MarcG

    MarcG Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,854
    Likes Received:
    2,234
    The best option would be an Option between the both, then everyone's happy!
     
    mike.m and The Iron Wolf like this.
  15. Milopapa

    Milopapa Registered

    Joined:
    May 3, 2017
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    39
    No, that's unnecessary overhead. I want all performance to go to the sim, not running things in the background.
    Also, why would you need an extra app for something that could be native? o_O
     
    Kokomo and The Iron Wolf like this.
  16. MarcG

    MarcG Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,854
    Likes Received:
    2,234
    Not sure if it's the latest build and/or a fresh RF2 install but the performance in VR has improved greatly for me, running everything HIGH (Shadows, Track/Env Reflections Off) x1 AA and 1.6 PPD I'm getting a smooth performance (ASW on Auto) at a couple of tracks with different cars (19 AI).
    This is improved from Monday when I could only go to 1.4 PPD and most settings on Medium (same track & cars 14 AI), I'll try turning on Shadows and Reflections aty the weekend and see if they still cause a drop in performance or not.

    Running Oculus 1.15 Beta and the grey outs no longer appear #Rejoice!
     
  17. Magus

    Magus Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    557
    @MarcG, which drivers are you running as there is no way I could do that with a 980ti?

    Am I right in thinking that you are pretty much locked 45fps with ASW with 19AI? Can I ask what tracks you have tested too?
     
  18. MarcG

    MarcG Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,854
    Likes Received:
    2,234
    latest 382.05 drivers and yes you should if you're CPU is equal/greater than mine (see profile). yeah it stays at 45fps as far as I can tell (drove a few laps with the Performance logger from the Oculus SDK) which is fine for me.

    Civics @ Barbagallo
    Historics/Howstons @ Brianza 10k
     
    Magus likes this.
  19. lockzar

    lockzar Registered

    Joined:
    May 2, 2017
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    28
    You can already access to ur desktop in VR with SteamVR, but u need to turn a controller on.

    AC is a pain in the ass in VR, R3E & RF2 did pretty well after that ^^
     
  20. whip

    whip Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    35
    yeah i'll agree raceroom has a decent ui that works well in vr
     

Share This Page