All Thrustmaster T500 rs owners come to this thread!!!

Discussion in 'Technical Archives' started by fedexpress, Jan 13, 2012.

  1. TIG_green

    TIG_green Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Messages:
    3,037
    Likes Received:
    42
    So this new fan is much better? Do I have to have broken fan before I can get it? After 2 hours of playing yesterday it took over 40 minutes from the fan to turn off. It wasn't particulary noisy or hot though. But I don't like to keep the wheel plugged for 40 minutes after my session. Going to be a large electrical bill that way :p
     
  2. Duvel

    Duvel Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    22
    i've had two new fans sent, both times they told me if was a reworked design and that the problem was to do with lubrication not kicking in fast enough, which is a flat out lie. So maybe they finally have fixed it, but you'd really need several people to confirm it's more than what i just said above and is a real fix.
     
  3. Guy Moulton

    Guy Moulton Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    2,305
    Likes Received:
    15
    TIG- email them about how long it stays on, tell them it gets hot and it is noisy. If you can feel any heat, it's hot, if you hear it at all, it's noisy. It's not like TM asks for the part to be shipped back. The new fan worked better from the first time I plugged it in than even the brand new fan did when this wheel was new.
     
  4. TIG_green

    TIG_green Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Messages:
    3,037
    Likes Received:
    42
    I wrote to Thrustmaster about the fan problem: "I know why and how the fan operates, but I think it's not acceptable level. I could imagine 45 minutes of cooling off after several hours of gameplay but not after 40 minutes."

    They replied: "We would like to inform you that from the information you have described to us the fan is working as designed and therefor not eligible for replacement.

    Thank you for your cooperation and understanding."

    so no success :p
     
  5. Guy Moulton

    Guy Moulton Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    2,305
    Likes Received:
    15
    Did you mention the loud noise? they will ask for a video with sound though.
     
  6. TIG_green

    TIG_green Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Messages:
    3,037
    Likes Received:
    42
    Not sure if I can say the fan is loud. I hear it for sure but not through my headphones for example :p I try to live with it now but maybe I take the cover off later on.
     
  7. Satangoss

    Satangoss Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    7
    LOOOOOL

    With V40 there're reboots and wheel freezing ocasionally. Now, with V41 firmware, there crashes in ALL simulators, EVERY TIME. Great fix!

    Shame on you, Thrustmaster!
     
  8. Duvel

    Duvel Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    22
    bootload failure, error 0x000000c, wheel won't flash to v41. not sure what to do right now, wheel is dead right now...
     
  9. MrPix

    MrPix Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    2
    Never experienced this with v40 or v41 and there's not many (if any) sims I don't own/play... so I doubt it's firmware related. Sounds like USB related to me.
     
  10. MrPix

    MrPix Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    2
  11. Duvel

    Duvel Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    22
  12. MrPix

    MrPix Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    2
    and you have done this exactly?:

    1) If you haven’t already done so, install the DRIVERS FORCE FEEDBACK (Package 2013_TTRS_1) + Firmware V41 package on your PC. You can download it here:
    http://ts.thrustmaster.com/eng/index.php?pg=view_files&gid=1&fid=2&pid=316&cid=15
    During the installation:
    - DO NOT CONNECT the racing wheel to the PC before being requested to do so.
    - Connect the racing wheel directly to the PC’s USB port. We advise against using a USB hub during this procedure.
    - DO NOT CLICK on any windows that may appear during the update.
    2) Restart the computer.
    3) After restarting the computer:
    - Remove the USB plug from the computer.
    - Simultaneously press buttons L3 and R3 (located on the racing wheel’s base), then connect (without releasing L3 and R3) the USB plug to the PC.
    - After connecting the USB plug to the PC, release buttons L3 and R3.
    then followed the rest of the instructions on page 4 onwards?

    then you better contact TS support, they are really good at getting things fixed.
     
  13. YoLolo69

    YoLolo69 Registered

    Joined:
    May 28, 2012
    Messages:
    974
    Likes Received:
    4
    Don't think it's dead, I had 2 times the same feeling each time for more than a day from the 2 previous firmware. I found than it was due to my USB v3.0 port on my desktop machine and also on my laptop (exact same error than you). The only way to fix it was to follow this bootloader method with an very old laptop which have only USB v2.0 ports. After this the wheel worked fine on all computers.

    Don't give up! :)
     
  14. Duvel

    Duvel Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    22
    Yep, i followed those instructions to the letter. When i press L3 R3, it doesn't do anything at all.

    Hmmm, USB 3.0 eh? It was in a 3.0 port when i tried to update - i should have known better than to leave it there. So you were not able to just swap to a USB 2.0 port on the same PC and it worked (which i've now tried myself and it didn't).

    Next stop USB 2.0 laptop - will report back :)
     
  15. Duvel

    Duvel Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    22
    Thanks guys, the USB 2.0 motherboard only trick worked. Wheel purring away again. :) Very dodgy that USB3.0 ports do this, though.
     
  16. YoLolo69

    YoLolo69 Registered

    Joined:
    May 28, 2012
    Messages:
    974
    Likes Received:
    4
    Good :) My desktop have 6 USB v3.0 and 2 USB v2.0 but the process didn't work on those 2 V2.0 port too. Only the old laptop (with XP by the way versus desktop on Win7 and laptop on Win8) USB v2.0 only did the trick.
     
  17. Duvel

    Duvel Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    22
    my laptop had win 7 on, but only USB 2.0, so it seems to be a usb3.0 issue only. Surely TM can add support for USB3.0. If i didn't have a USB2.0 only PC around, I'd have been completely stuck right now.
     
  18. Guy Moulton

    Guy Moulton Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    2,305
    Likes Received:
    15
    You know, I have 2 USB 3.0 ports and you just reminded me- when I hook up my wheel I have to make sure I don't hook it up to one of the 3.0 ports or the wheel won't work. I hadn't thought of it when I read this thread though. Good find.
     
  19. Voltaic

    Voltaic Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    54
    Has anyone noted a diminished FFB tactile sensation (rumble strips, etc.) after v41 is installed?
     
  20. rixracer

    rixracer Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    4
    Just bought T500RS, configuring as we speak...
     

Share This Page