So, How Do I Know What Lap Time is a Good Lap Time?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by BluesAdam, Jun 25, 2017.

1. BluesAdam

BluesAdam Registered

Hi all,

I am a newbie, bought the game two days ago and having a blast. All is well. However, since I have no reference points to compare lap times, I can't be sure if I am doing decent lap times. This is not about checking the leaderboard to see if I am in the top ten or anything, I just want to know if I am actually doing a decent job at all.

So, what makes you think "hmm I think this should be a good time" and what makes you say "I am sure this time can be improved a lot, I am doing something wrong."? I have been driving Nissan GT500 in Silverstone and generally running anywhere between 2:00 to 2:01 lap times. I have checked YouTube but none shows the lap times or some are definitely driving on stock car set ups so there is no reason to take those times as reference points.

Any answer is appreciated. Thanks a lot for sparing your time and have a good day :)

2. ADSTA

ADSTA Registered

You could try doing a single player session with the AI difficulty set to 100%.
    You may get disheartened though. ;)

Apart from that, find a league that suits your tastes and learn from the experienced members.
    I found from my 10 years of experience that leagues are the best way to enjoy rF.

John, bwana and Obbzy_XR_ like this.
  3. BluesAdam

BluesAdam Registered

Thanks for the answer. I am intimidated by the leagues to be honest. I'd probably ruin the fun for everyone at this state so I'd try to learn better first. Will try racing against the AI and see how it works out.

4. ADSTA

ADSTA Registered

I think everyone is a bit intimidated the first time playing multiplayer.
    The good thing with a league is you can join practice sessions with other members to gain confidence and get "training" before doing any races.