Rfactor2 The VR thread -settings & tips

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Adrianstealth, Apr 30, 2017.

  1. MarcG

    MarcG Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,601
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    I wonder if cloudy skies and shadows together (sun occlusion ) are a cause for heavy fps, I've turned shadows off anyway but it maybe worth testing. As shadows are a system hog then clouds casting shadows will only make it worse possibly.
     
  2. Kokomo

    Kokomo Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    19
    I would like to know this as well
     
    GaetanL likes this.
  3. WiZPER

    WiZPER Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,521
    Likes Received:
    186
    Except it doesn't fully work yet, it's buggy but nvidia really tricked alot of us into this (current) fantasy. Asuming that you are refering to Single Pass Stereo (SPS).

    https://developer.nvidia.com/vrworks/graphics/singlepassstereo
     
  4. iceagecoming

    iceagecoming Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    20
    Try batman or everest and get back to me
     
  5. WiZPER

    WiZPER Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,521
    Likes Received:
    186
    I know that iRacing is testing it, with major problems.
     
  6. iceagecoming

    iceagecoming Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    20
    iracing and major problems go hand in hand
     
  7. WiZPER

    WiZPER Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,521
    Likes Received:
    186
    Haha, that might be it.
     
  8. rogue22

    rogue22 Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    18
    Now that I've finally have some time I'm going to give VR a go on the HTC vive. Downloading the beta now. I'll share results in a while.
     
    Adrianstealth likes this.
  9. Adrianstealth

    Adrianstealth Registered

    Joined:
    May 28, 2012
    Messages:
    4,471
    Likes Received:
    994
    Bit obvious I know (put in 1st post)
    Helps with fps performance a tad:

    Amend in your .JSON file (set to 0's) as below :

    "Car Vibration Mult1":0,
    "Car Vibration Mult2":0,
    "Cockpit Vibration Mult1":0,
    "Cockpit Vibration Mult2":0,
     
  10. Magus

    Magus Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    751
    Likes Received:
    454
    Has anyone tested the Texture Sharpening line in the player.json? Pre-VR I used to have it on 0=Off, now I've reset the file it is on 5=Auto. Any conclusions from anyone here on what setting is best?
     
  11. The Iron Wolf

    The Iron Wolf Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2016
    Messages:
    971
    Likes Received:
    922
    @iceagecoming how do you enable this graph, and how do you see framerate in SteamVR? I tried many settings, but couldn't get framerate to show in a headset. Graph will do as well. I am on CV1 though. Thanks!
     
  12. Kokomo

    Kokomo Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    19
    I've been doing a few laps in rFactor 2, then after an hour decided to launch iRacing to compare, and good god, the difference in performance and smoothness is just too much. I don't know if it will ever come close regardless of optimizations :(
     
  13. The Iron Wolf

    The Iron Wolf Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2016
    Messages:
    971
    Likes Received:
    922
    off topic, but games are different. iRacing doesn't have AI, nor weather, nor moddability. I imagine part of the challenge S397 is facing is how to break 3rd party content minimally, and so far, I am pretty impressed. I race unconverted content with the only problem - bloom all over the place. Didn't expect that honestly.
     
    MarcG likes this.
  14. TonyRickard

    TonyRickard Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    38
    That was my initial reaction but after tweaking with the settings I can run about 12 AI in dry weather without any issues, just as smooth as iRacing.
     
  15. Kokomo

    Kokomo Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    19
    The smoothness is not limited to FPS but also how they handle bumps while in the car. In rFactor2 if I don't disable cockpit movement the car shakes like crazy, and if I disable it then the whole world shakes like crazy. Don't know what's worse

    And I'm sure OpenVR isn't helping either
     
  16. PaulG

    PaulG Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    30
    Yeah. I mean, at this point, you're best to just take Nvidia claims when they launch new cards as entertainment and comedy. Every card they hold a major press conference with amazing claims that always turn out to be a bunch of nothing. I still buy their cards for the obvious reasons, but I feel it's best to assume every claim is a massive exaggeration and be pleasantly surprised if anything turns out worthwhile.
     
  17. Narrowbackwing

    Narrowbackwing Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    155
    I do hope they fix ( self in rear view ) as it is now when you look in your mirrors you see from the front bonnet to rear ---- that's if you have it enabled in player J.SON file .

    But very pleased with there first beta , I did notice the FFB is not quite as good as it was , but it might have to do with there issue to start steam Vr before you enter the game .
     
    Andrew Waddington likes this.
  18. rogue22

    rogue22 Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    18
    BTW, you guys use the steam beta you don't have to manually edit the steamvr file anymore. There's a slider now. Also there is an advanced menu somewhere that adds other options like re positioning the floor or re calibrating the headset on the fly.
     
  19. hangon

    hangon Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    28
    Tried vr,I'm on vive.I just got a black screen..tried a few things and still the same,and then realized the menu was behind me? If I went to drive I'm sitting backwards in the seat? Any other sims work perfectly ..the UI menu is right in front of me.suggestions??
     
  20. rogue22

    rogue22 Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    18
    Rerun the room config and pick standing. Make sure the Headset is facing where you want.
     

Share This Page