onscreen map and mirrors question

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Craigjw, Oct 28, 2012.

1. Craigjw

Craigjw Registered

I'm new to rFactor 2, so please bear with me.

I started driving games using cockpit view, however with only 1 monitor, I can't see what's at the side of me and I only have 6 buttons on my G27, so I use them for important things, not look left/right. So, I switched to a swingman (3rd person) view, so that I have better visibility and I can view cars at the side, which makes overtaking much safer. The issue with swingman is that there is no rear view mirror. How can I add a virtual rear view mirror.

Secondly, how do I get an onscreen map display, so that I can have a cue to where I am on the map?

Thanks in advance.

2. Luc Van Camp

Luc Van Camp Track Team Staff Member

In your PLR file, change the following line:
    Code:
    [ Graphic Options ]
    Allow Rearview In Swingman="1"
    There is no map option built into rF2, but I believe there are some plugins out there.

3. Craigjw

Craigjw Registered

Ta, I will try that.

4. Craigjw

Craigjw Registered

I quite like that plr file, a lot of options I can play with to make it sweet.

5. Abriel Nei

Abriel Nei Registered

6. killerwatt

killerwatt Registered

Try TIR (TrackIR) and you will be able to see alongside just by turning your head.

7. Ricknau

Ricknau Registered

To me look left and look right are the most important, even with 3 monitors.

8. tjc

tjc Registered

Indeed, I`d also say they are pretty important but then I`m always in cockpit view... really don`t think i could drive with any other view but each to their own ofcourse. :)

9. Craigjw

Craigjw Registered

It's a difficult compromise. Of late, I have used look left/right on my wheel buttons, but I'd prefer not to and £119 for TrackIr, although is a great solution and very nice, is not an option for me right now.