new HDR and impressions

Discussion in 'Technical Archives' started by MarcG, Feb 25, 2014.

1. MarcG

MarcG Registered

Cant say I'm too keen on the new look HDR "automation", the game now looks too flat and lacks depth and with this new way I fear people wont make HDR profiles as before.
    Just to stress I am no HDR expert, I'm merely going on what I see & feel when racing and this was an immediate "oh..." reaction I got from first going out on track. I understand the HDR changes are more broader and may help other areas but please respect these are 1st impressions...but they're the ones that count usually!

I'll try to explain as best I can with the following images.:
    TOP of each image is 493
    BOTTOM is 382

Both identical ingame settings (including Time & Weather) & PLR, plus CCC changes, 382 used NONE on the HDR Profile Box, automation in 493.

As you maybe can see the top images look flat and almost colourless to how an early morning (6:30am) sunrise looks, see the walls & sign in 493, check the bottom pics and you'll notice more of a difference especially in the depth and the slight colour tinge to represent this time of day, look down the far end of the track (both pics) there is more atmosphere in 382 (haze). Check the colouring of the curbs, 382 has a more natural look to me.

Now it maybe just me and onviously HDR preference is totally subjective, but personally I dont like the new look, I'm hoping there is more to come in the STable build that will address this, if so feel free to ignore.
    Unfortunatley I cant ignore the FPS loss though, only just noticed that!

GRAB_001.jpg
    GRAB_000.JPG

2. Tuttle

Tuttle Technical Art Director - Env Lead

There is no any new HDR. The automation is using a complete set of functions to change all day elements automatically/dynamically, based on real geo location variables and time of the day. To long and complex to explain, but just to be clear; there is no any new HDR.