New player, Beta concerns and thoughts

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Boxorman8, May 2, 2012.

1. Boxorman8

Boxorman8 Registered

Hello fellow racers, I am relatively new to this scene so please excuse me if I say something stupid I won't take offense.

My name is Nick and I'm learning to race primarily in rfactor2 megane trophy mod, I'm enjoying the 3 tracks available but I'd like more, I understand it's a beta ofcourse so I wont stress it at this point.
    I'd like to ask you guys some questions about tracks and cars tho, is there any interest in fictional tracks and cars? I understand this is a SIMULATOR, but I think sometimes you guys can take it to far by trying to model everything from the IRL world into the simulator.

Fictional tracks I think are a must for a game like this, because you can create tracks in the editor far more easily than it is to make one in real life they are bound to be more intresting and challenging for us I think.
    What do you guys think ? is this bull**** and you'd rather just play on real racetracks because you enjoy watching "real" races on tv and comparing your times and racing lines and such ? I'd understand if that was the case, I however don't watch any racing on tv so ALL the tracks are brand spanking new to me.

As long as I'm on the topics on tracks; you know in cockpit view in the Megane atleast you can see a tiny handdrawn map layout on the left hand side of the car, It's barely visible and for me unusable in game, I suspect it's there to look authentic (I would have a track map in my car if I were a racer for sure).
    Is there any way to make this bigger/easier to read? My biggest problem is not knowing the track layouts and a map layout similair to that in different albeit more arcade games such as need for speed or Drift.