rFactor 2 Telemetry Plugin

Discussion in 'Other' started by Lazza, Jan 26, 2012.

1. Jamie Shorting

Jamie Shorting Registered

Awesome, thank you. Tire slip% is basically amount of drive wheel spin. :)

2. McFlex

McFlex Registered

I tried to do that with the rF1 Motec plugin but it did not work as supposed. Tire slip should be around 10% but motec showed me about 1%. Maybe rf1 has no tire slip support? Does it work with rf2 with your own math?

3. Jamie Shorting

Hey McFlex. I'm fairly new to motec but am spending some time with it. Anyway, I'm not too sure how to write the equation into the maths. Also I don't know what to put as the "quantity".

The equation for wheel slip% is

Fastest front wheel speed/fastest rear wheel speed X 100

4. Lazza

Lazza Registered

Leave the quantity as "Unitless" (it's the default when you create a new expression) since you're doing a percentage.

Your equation isn't what I might have expected; it will reduce as the rear tyres (or tyre) start to spin up relative to the front. If your aim is to measure rear wheel slip wouldn't you want to go the other way, so it moves above 100% as the rear spins up, or even sits at 0 until they do?

You'll get the hang of using the math expression editor with some practice, being unsure which way the tyres might rotate I put in this basic expression to match your equation but there is at least one major issue:

max(abs('Wheel Rot Speed FL' [rad/s]),abs('Wheel Rot Speed FR' [rad/s])) / max(abs('Wheel Rot Speed RL' [rad/s]),abs('Wheel Rot Speed RR' [rad/s])) * 100

And that issue is that we don't have a measure of the wheel+tyre size, or the actual tread speed. The rotation speed is ok but you need to multiply that angle (in radians) out by your tyre circumference, which in itself isn't an absolute value even if you know its starting point. Just using the rotation speed will obviously only be close if the front and rear tyres have the same diameter.