What should I be expecting?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by rob1178, Apr 19, 2012.

1. rob1178

rob1178 Registered

Ok I've had rF2 for about a week now and I wanted to see whether my experience was along the same lines as others or if I am getting it wrong or not setting up properly.

First thing, no raindrops on the visor, nor sun glare as in the trailer/YouTube stuff. I take it this is because it's beta?

Second, no pit crew. Seen YouTube with a motionless crew but I don't even get that.

Third, my ffb is very week, but I have a cheapo Thrustmaster wheel so probably that's the cause not rF2.

Lastly, and I'm sure everyone has asked already so sorry for duplicating but FPS performance is all over the place. I have a GeForce gt430 1gb over locked and at spa with the 60s mod I can sometimes run at AA level 4, high or full settings on everything and get 50-70 FPS and then the next time I play the same settings are hopelessly slow at 20-40.

Mirrors seem to take between 10-40 FPS off the performance so I have to switch them off.

And sometimes it doesn't seem to matter what I set the display settings to it makes no difference to the FPS.

And that's on dx9. The final will be dx11 I expect so my gpu will be dead! I can't see if it's only dx9 at the moment or is dx11 supported?

So in summary, are these common features at this stage or is it me?

And what's the min upgrade gpu I'll need to get the settings up to high or full and have 60 plus FPS? (incl all the AA and HDR stuff) so far I have been advised GeForce gtx560.

Thanks guys, enjoying the physics but not enjoying stuttery FPS!!

2. D1Racer

D1Racer Registered

You have a GT 430, that's a low end card. You'd probably be better off with a 9600GT. GTX 560 Ti or higher is what I'd aim for.

As for the rest, It's a BETA.

3. rob1178

rob1178 Registered

I thought the beta thing was the rest of it just wanted to make sure!

4. rob1178

rob1178 Registered