[WIP] Tor Radom LIDAR

Discussion in 'Locations' started by Bienio, Jul 15, 2014.

1. Bienio

Bienio Registered

It's going to be a long post, but I hope you will manage to read all of it (there's pictures too!!! ;) ) BTW, how do you insert an image so it's visible, not just a link?

Hello, I am a student at Warsaw University of Technology and I'm currently writing a master's thesis about the use of photogrammetry in creating 3D models of race tracks. It's a combination of my major - photogrammetry, and hobby - simracing.

I have high quality aerial data for the area of a karting track - Tor Radom in Radom, Poland. I’ve got a 10cm GSD (Ground Sampling Distance, terrain pixel size) orthophoto (rectified aerial image) and ALS (Airborne Laser Scanning) point cloud with resolution of 12 points/m2. In my master's thesis I have two main objectives: to check the accuracy of this aerial data and then actually create a 3D model of a race track and import it into rFactor or rFactor 2. I have created this topic so you can track my progress and also, hopefully, so I could get some help from you, the modders, as I have basically no modding experience at all, unfortunately.

View attachment 13600
    View attachment 13610
    View attachment 13606

I have vistited the track to take some photos and take GPS RTK measurements. I’ve measured almost 100 points and used those as reference and checked the orthophoto’s and ALS’s accuracy. The results are really good and I’ll try to summarize it briefly.

View attachment 13601
    View attachment 13611

The orthophoto was usually off by only a couple of centimeters from GPS measurements, so the horizontal accuracy is even better than the 10cm GSD.