Some Newbie Questions About The AI

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Hornet85, Sep 16, 2013.

1. Hornet85

Hornet85 Registered

Hello all, I hope this is the right section to post this. I'm a newbie to sim racing, just recently purchase rF2 and a racing wheel set. So right now I'm just practicing to learn and improve. I'm comparing my lap times to the AI (set at 100% strength) to see how far off I am.

Anyway I'd like to know if the AI do optimize their car setup for each circuit? Or do they always stick to the default setting for each car? Right now I'm not doing any setup changes, and I'm just assuming that the AI doesn't too, so I could get a balanced comparison of lap time. Would love to confirm if that is indeed the case, or not.

Secondly, is the AI 100% strength a good representation of an average player? If not, any advice on what strength I should set the AI to. I figured I should get myself up to average level first :p

Thanks in advance.

2. MarcG

MarcG Registered

Hi Hornet,

No the AI are not technically optimised to each circuit but they can behave "better" at some than others, bascially there are many many many (many many many many....) variables that go into the workings of the AI to get them to perform at any track. Starting with the MOD itself, the tracks AIW (this is the "Path" for the AI as set by the track maker), the Talent Files which dictate their behaviour & overall skill and finally the possiblilty to alter AI characteristics by editing your player.PLR file itself......Bascially there's a lot of stuff involved!

If you set the AI to 100 at an official ISI track with official ISI mod and you're close to their times then yeah you're good, of course you can get better though ;)

I would'nt compare lap times too closely, as above there are so many variables it makes it hard to justify a decent comparison, best way for that is to pop online and race the Humans...dont be scared by that, it's the best way to learn IMO.