Some mod/package help for a newb ?

Discussion in 'Component and Mod Packaging' started by kro388th, Nov 12, 2012.

1. kro388th

kro388th Registered

I am a total newb to modding but would like to try and mod the 2009_megain isi original (make a new mod) so that we can change gear ratios to be able to race on larger tracks and not ride the red line ;-) thats all, not adding any new cars or skins (at this time) just editing the gearbox.ini and the HDV ... I think i have a good idea what to do from *this post to babs ,in fact he showed me where to edit the gearbox.ini to add the ratios and " AllowFinalDriveChanges=0 // not permitted to alter final drive ratio" from 0 to 1 to to actavate the gear ratio in game within the HDV ..

Now what i have done so far is open, in MAS2 ,the Megane09_main.mas and extracted the Gearbox.ini and the HDV into my work dir I created following the tuts so its away from my rf2 instal , I have edited the gearbox.ini to add the new gears and in the HDV changed 0 to 1 so that part, i believe, is done so these files are now ready ( i hope lol) but i now am at a loss of what to do to .. is it time to repackage now? Do I add these back to main.mas or make a new main.mas by copying/pasting all the original files with these 2 edited ones in place of the originals? sry im such a newb but i want to learn and i got this far so if anyone can help I would rely be gratefull !!!

thx ! ;-)

* http://isiforums.net/f/showthread.php/5323-Problem-create-MOD?p=113925&viewfull=1#post113925

2. kro388th

kro388th Registered

OK I have tried trial and error my self to get this done , i created the 3 new .mas files needed for the mod , xxxx_TEAM.mas, xxxx_Main.mas , xxxx.mas I only had to edit the main.mas to change the HDV and add ratios to the gearbox.ini so the other 2 are simply copys renamed for new mod .. Now i get to this part .
    snip>

Now its time to pack them all together. Click the C button in the MAS2.exe program

- Click NEW Component button