Server issues

Discussion in 'Technical & Support' started by StrawmanAndy, Apr 13, 2015.

1. StrawmanAndy

StrawmanAndy Registered

I can't join servers, the button "race" doesn't always light up on some servers, and I have the correct build and all the mods etc. It is confusing, my connection isn't great but nor is it terrible. I can join on other games (AC/GSCE) so it's slightly odd why rF2 blocks me from joining servers.

Any help is helpful and welcome, thanks!

Edit: I've also had this issue on the older builds too - it's not just happened on the new 946 build.

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 13, 2015
  2. nickbalti

nickbalti Registered

I'm no expert but have you checked the port forwards? I had similar issue and it was because I hadn't forwarded the HTTP port. Might be worth a try?

3. MystaMagoo

MystaMagoo Registered

Shouldn't really need to open ports just for the client,that's more for servers.

4. Noel Hibbard

Noel Hibbard Registered

StrawmanAndy, my understanding is you can join some servers but not others. One the servers you cant join, what happens? Also, could you list a few servers that you can join alone with a few that you can't join? I am also under the understanding that you are on an university network. If so, they are notorious for restricting what ports that allow. I was thinking that maybe they are allowing the default rF2 ports so you can join those servers but can't join servers on nonstandard ports. If you can list a few you can and can't join I can look to see what ports they are running on.

5. elbo

elbo Registered

I basically have the same issues off a clean install...some servers are grayed out and I can not join, refresh does not help. Sometimes all servers are grayed. Exiting the game and reentering cures it on some servers but not on all....occasionally servers I could join previous to exiting become grey while others that were gray now become accessible...

6. Dave-NRT

Dave-NRT Registered