Self steering wheel / odd feedback / Update rate

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Rarry, Feb 18, 2013.

1. Rarry

Rarry Registered

Hello,

I'm new to rFactor and started purchasing rFactor2 this weekend. After some frustrating experminets and searching, I discovered the "Skip Update" setting to "3" seems to solve the "unplayable" problem with my Microsoft SideWinder FFB USB wheel.
    But I can't get the idea of the feedback behaviour at all.

Fisrt problem: While parking in the start-grid, the wheel steers to max-right/left by itself if not positioned exactly in the middle. Nevers sitten in a car with a self steering wheel so far, so I guess all available cars shouldn't be simulated like that ;-)

Next problem: When running straight and slightly turning, wheel also seems to steer itself and I have to bring up the _opposite_ force-direction as the direction I want to drive to. That's exactly the wrong way arround. If I drive left, there's the opposite force I have to correct, so feedback must be right-force - I have to increase left-force to keep the direction I want - alas the _same_ direction I want to drive to. At least as long as there's any grip to the ground. And exactly that amount of grip is what I expect the wheel to tell me...
    Sorry for my bumpy explanation, I'm no native english speaker... But I hope you understand my problem.

My question: Do all FFB-wheel drivers notice the same behaviour? Or is it just with my hardware? In any case, is there a known workarround?
    I'd really like to have something like a handbook. Especially for the variuous FFB- .ini settings. Is there a description of them anywhere available?

Thanks a lot,

-Rarry