Rfactor2 The VR thread -settings & tips

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Adrianstealth, Apr 30, 2017.

  1. Bruce0440

    Bruce0440 Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    19
    Thanks MarcG, I do it. Do you have the same problem? Or is right now for you.
     
    MarcG likes this.
  2. MarcG

    MarcG Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,552
    Likes Received:
    1,873
    Not tested todays Build yet
     
  3. elcoco

    elcoco Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    6
    same here (htc vive)

    edit: Tested with new saopaulo dx11 and no black rectangle :)
     
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2017
  4. TheMattyOnline

    TheMattyOnline Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2016
    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    479
    This now appears resolved in the latest patch
     
  5. chrisbmxr

    chrisbmxr Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    So, I'm hoping to do my first league race in VR this weekend, but I get occasional 'whiteouts' where the HMD seems to stop tracking for a split second.

    Is this a performance issue? What's the most effective way of improving performance? Do I need to run reprojection in Steam / Oculus or both?

    Sorry if this has been already covered but I couldn't find it using search.

    Thanks.
     
  6. MarcG

    MarcG Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,552
    Likes Received:
    1,873
    see posts #192 & #199 (Page 10) in this thread, they may help, also try different USB ports for HMD & Sensor. I've tried pretty much everything but the flashes/whiteouts come back from time to time then don't happen for ages.
     
    vegaguy5555 likes this.
  7. Cote Dazur

    Cote Dazur Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2017
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    29
    How do you lock to horizon in RF2?
     
  8. Adrianstealth

    Adrianstealth Registered

    Joined:
    May 28, 2012
    Messages:
    4,454
    Likes Received:
    980
    Don't think it's implemented yet

    Although I find it's only really needed on the very poor 3rd party mod tracks that feel as if some fire fighter has left their water hose's across the track in various places causing strange bumps
     
    vegaguy5555 likes this.
  9. vegaguy5555

    vegaguy5555 Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2017
    Messages:
    899
    Likes Received:
    490
    One more thing to add is power drain on the chipset. I got the Oculus touch and plugged the extra senser into my last open usb port, which happened to be a 3.0. This crashed my computer and sent it into restart or disabled the head set. Got a powered 3.0 hub and everything is good now.

    Also, when I have my triples in with my senser in the back peaking over the top. If I move my head down to look at something, which is now blocked by the triples, I get a white screen. Everything comes back as soon as I lift my head in senser line of sight.

    Thanks for all your tests.
     
  10. vegaguy5555

    vegaguy5555 Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2017
    Messages:
    899
    Likes Received:
    490
    So now I have VR locked at 45fps in rF2 somehow. I can run AC at 1.5 SS with a solid 90fps. Is there a way to unlocking VR? I didn't think any one software could be locked without all being the same?
     
  11. Adrianstealth

    Adrianstealth Registered

    Joined:
    May 28, 2012
    Messages:
    4,454
    Likes Received:
    980
    Mine runs at 89/90fps @ 1.6 pixel

    Not locked , check your settings
    Make no sync on in your gpu control panel & rf2, make sure you've started rf2 with min settings before raising them
     
    vegaguy5555 likes this.
  12. Magus

    Magus Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    452
    @Adrianstealth have you been following the developments over on THIS thread?

    It seems for best performance & results not using Oculus's Pixel Density is the way to go at the moment. Using Steam VR SS solely seems to reap the best results, so not sure when you say 1.6, whether that is in Steam or Oculus (as 1.6 in steam = 1.3 in oculus).
     
  13. elcoco

    elcoco Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hi all!
    The dashboard and steering wheel seems too small, in my HTC Vive,
    Is there a way to increase the scale
    thx for the help
     
    Stephane P likes this.
  14. Adrianstealth

    Adrianstealth Registered

    Joined:
    May 28, 2012
    Messages:
    4,454
    Likes Received:
    980
    yes using steams pixel, of course
     
  15. elcoco

    elcoco Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    6
    Thank you
     
  16. sherpa25

    sherpa25 Registered

    Joined:
    May 14, 2015
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    23
    BTW VR users, as I understand that Trackmap still isn't working in DX11 (wish S397 fixes it...soonest), what HUD's do you use in VR?
     
  17. MarcG

    MarcG Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,552
    Likes Received:
    1,873
    Personally, None! Only ones that come in car as designed (on their little screens), otherwise I leave them off unless I'm really desperate then bring up the default HUD to quickly look at stuff/pit menu. Using Crew Chief helps lessen the requirement for a HUD and is a superb tool for VR driving.

    For me it's all about the realism, no Virtual Mirrors, no HUD and even No Crew Chief in the classics!
     
    vegaguy5555 and Adrianstealth like this.
  18. Eddy

    Eddy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,639
    Likes Received:
    390
    No hud here also :)
     
  19. sherpa25

    sherpa25 Registered

    Joined:
    May 14, 2015
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    23
    I see. But is it possible, at the least the track's map (w/c I need for tracks I'm not familiar with)?
     
  20. Eddy

    Eddy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,639
    Likes Received:
    390
    Afaik not for now but s397 is looking into it. Not sure tho if trackmap will ever be back again as it was 3rd party and developer left the building :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page