Raceaccident - who is at fault

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Michael BEN, Nov 30, 2023.

?

Who is at fault

1. green car

10 vote(s)
    55.6%
  2. whitredgrey car

8 vote(s)
    44.4%
  1. Michael BEN

Michael BEN Registered

Hello,
    i am new to simracing and i have a disagreement with a fellow newbie in simracing. We raced on a server and an accident happend. You can see it in this video:

can someone tell me, who is at fault pleas?

thank you vera much

best regards

Michael

2. Emery

Emery Registered

That is a no fault (or equal blame) racing incident. Lead car was not in control, following car made an unfortunate choice in direction.

trichens and Michael BEN like this.
  3. Michael BEN

Michael BEN Registered

Thanks for your reply.

4. Lazza

Lazza Registered

I think the following car would take most of the blame for the contact.

5. Michael BEN

Michael BEN Registered

So it is not important that the green car uses the whole track and turns into the lane of the following car? Does the following car has to anticipate where the green car is going?

6. Highlandwalker

Highlandwalker Registered

I think people seem to forget that the following car has all the information right in front of him, so has the chance to avoid the accident. On the road in real life if run into the back of another car, 9 times out of 10 it's your fault. On the track the same applies but too a lesser extent.

7. Michael BEN

Michael BEN Registered

Hmm, on the road it is not the goal to be the fastest. And the leading driver has no controll over his car. It turns in the last second to the left. How should the car behind know that. Only chance for whitered to avoid the accident, is to brake at the moment when the leading car is sliding to the right. But okay, i am a newbie. So i have to learn how to judge this situations.

8. Lazza

Lazza Registered

It's really context dependent (rules, in real life costs and potential injuries), but mostly I'd agree with Emery.