Pedal Dead-Zone on fresh install

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by James Defant, Mar 5, 2020.

1. James Defant

James Defant Registered

I apologize if this issue has already been raised elsewhere.

I have played this sim since 2013 - off and on over the years. I have always wanted to enjoy it, but the handling of most of the cars has caused me to quit in frustration - despite this being the single greatest thing that the sim racing community loves about rF2. I play other sims as well (iRacing, AC, ACC, Project Cars, RRE, KartKraft, KRP, Dirt Rally, RBR) so I have a basis of comparison.

I have a Thrustmaster T500RS, AMD 2600X, 32 GB RAM, GTX 970...

I fired rF2 up yesterday, and was immediately dismayed by how imprecise the brakes are. I check my settings. I've never really noticed the MIN / MAX buttons underneath the clutch/brake/accelerator pedal indicators before. Each pedal is set up with about a 5-10% dead-zone before the sim registers any movement at all, which, at the end of my pedal is 1-2cms of movement. Clicking the MIN button with the pedal depressed and clicking the MAX button fully pressed made my pedals respond in a linear fashion.

This completely changed how rF2 drives.
    Now it feels great - responsive, predictable. It only took me 7 years to figure this out.

I understand that real cars have dead-zones in their pedals before they do anything. You can, however, feel those points in your feet, in your back, in your inner-ear as you brake, accelerate, or use the clutch. Not so in a sim.

Being that you (S397) have been spending so much time reworking the GUI, you should very much consider a mandatory wheel config when the sim is first set up, or upon any controller changes. A good UI guides the user to set what is necessary to have a good experience. I can't stress this enough what a difference a few innocuous mouse-clicks have made to my enjoyment of this sim. Certainly kept me from racking up much time on it.

2. Lazza