lap time comparison

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Ruudjuh, Feb 16, 2013.

1. Ruudjuh

Ruudjuh Registered

Yesterday I had the idea to comparis my own laptimes to real world laptimes, since I'm a big Renault fan I started with the megane @Spa Francorchamps (I've been to the real event last year) the real life pole time was a 2.24.202 and I managed to drive a 2.25.361, next tested the 3.5 formula renault. The real life pole time was a 1.57.423 and myself only managed to do a 2.06.156 this big gap was a bit disturbing. (I know I'm not a professional racing driver, but since I've managed to get within a second of the pole time with the megane I expected more or less the same with the formula renault)

The question is what am I doing wrong with the formula renault (both the megane and the formula renault had a minor tweak in the setup, but could be considered to have default setups) Also the fomula renault upgrades are high downfoce package and the 4E (STD) rear roll centre spring.

2. TIG_green

TIG_green Registered

I think open wheelers performance in rf (both in rf1 and rf2) are it's biggest problem. Every time I watch F1 races for example I see how much easier it looks than driving rf series. Codemasters recent f1 games gaptured the feeling of driving a F1 car better IMO. All formula cars should be gripfest in my opinion. Something like T5 Series.

F2 are ok (haven't tried them for a while but I remember those being pretty drivable) but others F3.5 and FISI are too unstable and low grip.

Haters gonna hate :D

But I will look for my lap times compared to real life times too. Good idea :)

3. frankwer

frankwer Registered

The road surface need to be rubbered in properly to get open wheelers to grip properly.

4. ForthRight

ForthRight Registered