I don't get why I'm DQ and can't finish a qualifying session

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by DanMicke, Jan 2, 2021.

1. DanMicke

DanMicke Registered

Sorry. I'm quite new to rFactor2 and might miss some basics here and try to solve problems with intuition but this seems so strange I have to ask for some shortcut to build up my knowledge of how to handle a session.

Thing is I picked two different cars and tracks (with track layouts I'm used to from GPL) and started to train just to get into the game. But I can't see any reason why I find my self DQ after just a couple of laps without any logical reason? Strange messages is displayed on lower left screen that I just can't rely to and therefore I don't know what to do.

For example: Even with just one warm up lap and an additional first full lap I saw some message (had'nt time to read it all) 'Enter pitch to avoid lap exceeding...' I was then noted DQ without even have a chance to do a full lap!??! And next time I tried and just entered the finish straight a message 'Wrong way' !!??!

This happens on another track and with another car as well and I'm allways interupted in my attempts to really set a time to qualify. Most irritating on lung tracks like Touris Ring!

I tried to set 'rules' to 'Just Black Flag' but it doesn't matter. I'm DQ over and over and can't se the slightest reason why. Please tell me what basic understanding I'm missing here?

2. Woodee

Woodee Registered

Sometimes there are penalties for speeding in the pits and a DQ happens after not serving that penalty.

The black box on the bottom right (if you click to the right screen) it will tell you the penalty you have, what you need to do to clear it and how long you have before DQ.

In the top right of your screen you will sometimes get a red warning about a track infraction. Similar place that a yellow/blue/chequered flag might appear.

3. Jarno

Jarno Registered

Don't you have a maximum laps set at the session settings?