I believe B494 Auto HDR is underexposing

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by GCCRacer, Mar 4, 2014.

1. GCCRacer

GCCRacer Banned

Hi all,

I installed B494 yesterday, and the Auto HDR is beautiful, consistent across multiple tracks from different modders, and generally just works. That's the good part.

The not so good part is that to my eye - and I've been a photographer for ten years now - it looks underexposed. So I made some small test/comparison today, using unedited screens from the screenshot thread here, and public available AC screens for comparison.

The histogram in each shot doesn't lie... it's not dependent on screen calibration. What you can see is that RF2 shots are all a bit heavy on the left side of the histogram, and that there are almost zero white tones. Of course AC and RF scenes here are not directly comparable, it depends on amount of sky, color of tarmac and so on, but for example the flying Brabham in a midday/early afternoon sun (by the shadows) against sky just shouldn't be so dark in the graph. That screen even includes a white house wall which usually throws the balance to the right. In fact it seems that the rightmost 5% or so of the histogram are almost "off limits" to the RF2 auto exposure. AC always has some percent of tones in that range.

Visually, this shows in the fact that besides extreme sun angles, you will get in RF2 always a nice blue, even dark blue sky. Problem is that properly exposing something for the sky you usually end up underexposing for darker objects.

To my feel what would be needed is 1.2 Gamma across all. Or an option in a config file to set an overal gamma preference ourself. Or someone to tell me how to hack this with ENBSeries... I believe RF2 will be VERY beautiful once this is sorted, it already looks tons better now with the Auto option, but wrong exposure just "shows" if you know where to look.

View attachment 11835
    View attachment 11836
    View attachment 11835