Cheating

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Tikal Sport, Nov 13, 2023.

Tags:
  1. Tikal Sport

Tikal Sport Registered

Hello!
    I drove the Daytona / 992 Cup special event yesterday. I'm a mediocre driver and don't practise enough, my best time was 1:46.4. The aliens probably manage 1:44.xxx or even 1:42.xxx. What was very strange, however, is that the rev limiter didn't kick in for those who set very good times. When I drove along, the Porsche reached 290 km/h without stuttering (rev limiter). Mine stuttered at 282 km/h. As there is no setting in the setup, I am now wondering whether there has been cheating here. It's not that important to me, but it would be nicer to know that everyone has the same conditions.

By the way, the race went disastrously for me, but at least I didn't finish last!

2. Interesting topic in general.

(there has been a link to vid but was removed - why?)

Concerning the top speed: I am not familiar with the 992 Cup Porsche, but does it allow to change gear ratio? If yes this could be one possibility. Another question would be if lowering rear wing will increase speed at lower RPMs (but this would be a bug IMHO as wheel rotation will be the same wether high or low downforce also wheel slip increases a bit with low wing)?

I noticed that certain kind of drift through curves does lower lap time and does add sector time - I am not able to drive that way (noticed it when it happens by accident and the sector time display changed from plus to minus) and I cannot say on which tracks at what curves it will work.

There are a couple of other aspects, like your age, your practice time (as it was said in the (removed) linked video: practicing for hours and hours on the same track does not meet reality, where drivers have only one or two hours practice sessions), setup of the car, setup of the server, your hardware (how comfortable do feel with) and so on.