beginner guide for rFactor2

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by basement_jeff, Nov 18, 2020.

1. basement_jeff

basement_jeff Registered

This is a getting started guide I wrote for beginners. It is geared towards my friends who played ProjectCARS 2 and are looking to explore RF2.

I'm new to RF2 so can remember some of the pain setting up. Here's a few tips.

There is an rFactor 1, and very old versions of RF2 so be sure to look for the latest help and info when searching online . Here is a guide for the current game..
    https://www.racedepartment.com/threads/rfactor-2-game-guide-and-f-a-q.119019/

To launch the game you must use the "launch rFactor.exe" in the launcher folder. If you launch from either of the "rFactor.exe" files in the 32 or 64 folders in RF2, it wont launch correctly. If, when you click the "launch rFactor.exe" shortcut, it doesnt launch..try launching steam first.
    You will arrive at the game launcher screen. In the settings menu, in video settings, choose your actual GPU, monitor and resolution. There is a checkbox to enable VR, which will start when a race is launched.
    Below the settings button there is a package button to view your inventory. There is a single helmet to start single player and a double helmet for multiplayer. Click the single helmet to launch the game the first time.

Once the game is launched, go to "options" in game to setup controls and other settings. In controls, load your wheel defaults and make sure it's detected. You'll probably need to set everything manually including wheel axis'. There is a checkbox called 'vehicle set' that will set your wheel rotation the same as actual car. If you prefer a set rotation like 540 for all cars, uncheck 'vehicle set' and enter rotation below that, which should match your wheel control panel.