Basic modding of car properties (Skippy)

Discussion in 'Car Modding' started by GCCRacer, Mar 12, 2014.

1. GCCRacer

GCCRacer Banned

Hi all,

First off, I'm a totally newbie to RF2 modding. I've done a tiny bit with NFS Shift, so in theory I know how to unpack, change stuff, repack.

For strictly offline use (no cheating anyone ;) ) I want to change the Skippy to run default on NATIONAL tires. Because I created a bunch of "virtual vehicles" with custom skins to race against, but they are using "default tuning" and that means regional tires.

I figured I could just fool around with the upgrades.ini file in the car MAS, but seems to me any edit on the MAS renders the whole mod inactive because of a checksum in the MFT file.

So the question is twofold:

1) Which is the easiest way to change Skippy default tires?
    2) Do I really need to create a custom "mod", .rfcmp everything or how do I regenerate the MFT file?

2. Noel Hibbard

Noel Hibbard Registered

You have to extract the MAS, edit the file and then repack the rfcmp with the updated MAS. The other option is to install devmode and then extract the car there. Then changes work more like they did in rf1. You simply change the loose file and the restart rf2.

I am on my phone right now but when I get back to a computer I will give you a simple guide on the first option. I actually wrote I little utility that automates a lot of the packaging process.

3. GCCRacer

GCCRacer Banned

Noel, appreciate any pointers, but I actually found some... so I guess I have to use the C button on the MAS tool.

It's going to suck a little for testing because I'm not sure what exactly to change in the INI for the tires, so it'll be trial and error... maybe I should look into devmode but that seems a lot of overhead for a single change (I don't plan on doing this often).

4. Noel Hibbard

Noel Hibbard Registered