About to start work on Rye House Karting Track.

Discussion in 'Track Modding' started by diamondgeezer, Nov 15, 2014.

1. diamondgeezer

diamondgeezer Registered

I thought I'd throw a quick question out before I put some work into this...

I know Dave Waters started a Rye House track for rFactor 4 years ago, but can't find his WIP, or finished track downloads anywhere. If anyone has a copy, I would be mighty grateful for a copy.

My Step-father and I used to practice this circuit with my 100cc Kart on the odd Sunday back in the late 1980's, and figured this Christmas when he pops over we can take turns blasting around it in rFactor 2 for old times sake. For the moment, I'm just looking to make the basic layout enough to drive it and enjoy it. All finishings and details can come later in the new year.

My plan, and this is my first attempt.. is to purchase a Bobs Track Builder licence to make the layout. It looks to be one of the fastest and intuitive track modellers out there even if a little dated. I figured I'd do the finishing in 3DSimED3.

Any suggestions in respect of a better process are very welcome, and if indeed anyone has Dave's track... pls upload it somewhere...

I noted my rfactor 2 Development section of the starting menu is greyed out. Will I need to by another licence to develop and import a track?

2. Rich Goodwin

Rich Goodwin Registered

Just a suggestion;

You could contact modders over on the Kart Racing Pro forums to see if they would be open to having a conversion done of one of their circuits.

http://forum.kartracing-pro.com/index.php?board=20.0

If they were agreeable, there is a treasure trove of kart tracks just waiting to be converted. I seem to recall Rye House being over there, or someone working on it..... I don't exactly recall. But anyway, just a suggestion.

As for the Dev section, you need to download the dev mode (SDK) http://rfactor.net/web/rf2/devscorner/

3. diamondgeezer

diamondgeezer Registered