3DSMax Loading DX9 Shaders Problems

Discussion in 'Modding' started by steveluppino, Mar 6, 2014.

1. steveluppino

steveluppino Registered

Hello,

I'm having a few problems, one is getting changes in material settings to show up in the viewports, and second trying to get the imported objects to shine in the viewports. I know it looks complicated. I have messed with a few settings like Rendering and Viewport settings. I am new to 3DSMax trying to set up my viewports and am looking for a simply guide but can't find one. I'm hoping there is one.

I have another program called 3DSimed that imports objects with there material properties as they are that is all the textures and shader properties or specular colours, etc. set as they are. Also DX9 shader programs are already loaded so you can see the object shine and reflect light.

I am wondering why 3DSMax doesn't do the same. Or if you have to set it up first and how hard it is to do.

Can anyone please offer some advice if there is a simple method or know of a good tutorial because I don't quite know what to look for.

Thanks.

2. blakboks

blakboks Registered

3DS Max doesn't actually use the gMotor shaders. About the only thing you can do is view the texture maps on the models with basic diffuse lighting. The Viewer allows you to tweak specular settings from within the game engine, using MatProps panel. So you can adjust the numbers how you like 'em, then go back to Max and set them to the same numbers and re-export (I believe they're only temporary settings in the Viewer, and don't get saved back to the .gmt's).

3DSimEd is only using an approximation of the in-engine shaders (especially since it uses OpenGL as opposed to DirectX). You might be able to get a rough idea with it, but it's best to do final tweaking in-engine under different lighting conditions.