Building My First Track - Help/Comments Please

Discussion in 'Track Modding' started by Alan Frost, May 7, 2012.

1. Alan Frost

Alan Frost Registered

Hello all,

I want to start building tracks and have a real life track lined up and researched. However, I'm totally new to all of this, including Max. After three weeks of reading the rF and rF2 track forums and doing tutorials and googling ideas, I've attempted something that I've written out below and included some screen shots.

I bet most of it is a mess, so i really welcome any comments and help and suggestions. I've reached the point where I have to start attempting things and then learn from mistakes or bad ideas as I'm going.

I start by making a polygon square mesh, because for the real track, that's what I have for the topography of the area.

1. Created a 1000mx1000x plane with 100 segments in each direction, thus a 10m terrain grid (planning a tighter mesh for the real track).
    2. Applied a noise modifier to make it more terrain like.
    3. Drew a line in top view to create the circuit shape, and a 10m wide straight line to the side of my mesh.
    4. Raised the circuit line above the map and selected it.
    5. Then lofted the cross section onto the circuit and adjusted the tick boxes as I'd read in the Track Building Tutorial 2.6.pdf.
    6. I intend to be mathematical when I come to build my track but for now I increased the shape and path steps until it looked like my track ploys were approximately 2x2m.
    7. Selected the loft, then conformed it down onto the terrain, then deleted my original spline and cross-section.
    8. Converted the loft to a mesh, choose edges, select open edges, Create shape from open edges.
    9. Hid my track mesh leaving the two new outer edges, and raised them in the air, applied a extrude modifier and made the track deeper than the terrain, and lowered it so it cut through the terrain.