Where does the mods downloaded when joining a server go?

Discussion in 'Technical & Support' started by Nocta, Feb 26, 2021.

1. Nocta

Nocta Registered

Hi there,
    I'm new to the online aspect of rFactor 2 and yesterday when I tried to join a server, the game had to download some cars and tracks apparently.
    Now if I look at the mods I'm subscribed to in the workshop, I can't find any new one, are they deleted after the race?

Also is it possible to sort the servers depending on the need to download new mod or not? Or at least can we cancel the download if it happens to be too long (slow internet here...)?

Thanks a lot.
    Cheers!

2. Lazza

Lazza Registered

I'm not sure on current steam workshop integration, but normally - and based on your observations, this is still the case at least for the content you downloaded - the content gets downloaded into the Packages folder in your rF2 install. It should then remain installed in your game afterwards. I don't know if workshop content is supposed to be subscribed or might happen that way in the future.

If you choose to remove it you can do it via the content -> packages tab in the game, or you may need to use the modmgr tool in the bin64 folder (which may need to be run from the rF2 root folder).

On your last questions, the answer is currently no.

Nocta likes this.
  3. Nocta

Nocta Registered

Thank you Lazza!
    I tried the modmgr tool way (the package tab in my game is not allowing me to uninstall or remove anything, I don't know why) and there are too things I can view: Mods and Components.
    It seems that mods only list the ones that got donwloaded when I tried to join the server but in components I have all my mods (added manually or via the workshop).
    This would be perfect for me to maintain a clean install but it seems that even if I uninstall and delete files in the mod list, they are still installed in the components one...
    Do you know anything about that?

4. mjo1704