[WIP] Varjanta F1 1982 League Edition - Conversion

Discussion in 'Vehicles' started by EmperorOfFinland, Oct 16, 2021.

  1. EmperorOfFinland

    EmperorOfFinland Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2021
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    695
    Okay idid some tests around the track and was able to go 1.25.301 on osterreichring while the pole lap was 1:27.612 the car suffers from pretty persistent understeer that did not become oversteer despite maxing out the front wing so i have to tweak the car a bit to fix it seemingly
     
  2. SharD

    SharD Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2019
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    201
    My mod is based on Endor's mod, so, there is not much point in sending it to you. But let me know if you still want it.

    *edit* You can get additional skins from the F1 Seven mod for F1 challenge 99-02.
     
    Endor likes this.
  3. EmperorOfFinland

    EmperorOfFinland Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2021
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    695
    Well if you send the RF2 version i can more quicky reverseengineer it as the endor mod itself is rather hard to get installed to RF1 so its harder to reverseengineer that and i can take look at how the shaders are implemented so i can more easily implement the shaders for the current version without having to completely remake it
     
    Endor likes this.
  4. Endor

    Endor Registered

    Joined:
    May 10, 2018
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    99
    oh I didn't read the sharD post! indeed shaders for rf1 are different and need some work
     
  5. EmperorOfFinland

    EmperorOfFinland Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2021
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    695
    Yeah this will allow me to straight integrate the models in into the existing mod by just adding the GMT's in into the models and creating a upgrade file and neatly package them in
     
  6. SharD

    SharD Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2019
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    201
    It's not hard, I generally use the shaders provided by ASR formula, as those are the best around. You can just copy them onto the existing cars without using any kind of GMT.

    Best ask for permission to use them, though, if you are planning to release the mod.
     
  7. EmperorOfFinland

    EmperorOfFinland Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2021
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    695
    i just need the material mappings really not the materials itself as i can just generate the needed maps probably myself, albeit i could ask them if im unable to do that. im more puzzeled on how to generate the said maps in the first place and how to use them. if i got the mod you have been developing i would have idea on how i should use the shaders and then i can simply reverseengineer on how to make the mappings and needed files.

    as i already made some maps for the cars in question, just seeing the models ingame would allow me to reverse engineer the tire and other shaders as the biggest question right now is the tireshader, ie how to generate the maps needed for the tires and so on. then i can finish the exterior of the car

    The converted cars would make it much faster to do that as otherwise i have to improvise myself and that will take more time on its own.

    on a sidenote i moved diffuser on the cars forward from -1.773 to -1.8 so the cars actually can drift now when the aero is more balanced now
     
    Mauro likes this.
  8. EmperorOfFinland

    EmperorOfFinland Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2021
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    695
    Okay i started doing the IBL shaders for the car in question and i did the rest of the shaders - helmet shader as i have not figured out how to integrate it with the upgradesystem i currently have

    F1 1982 Mod Cars 21.png

    F1 1982 Mod Cars 22.png
     
    pascom and Mauro like this.
  9. EmperorOfFinland

    EmperorOfFinland Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2021
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    695
    The tires look fine too
    F1 1982 Mod Cars 23.png

    but i have to take them to blender and merge the edges of the tires so there is no gaps between the tire so i dont get edges like this but i might need help on this to fix the tires

    F1 1982 Mod Cars 24.png
     
    pascom, GPNeville and Mauro like this.
  10. EmperorOfFinland

    EmperorOfFinland Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2021
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    695
    Okay i booted up the pc today and started doing the arrows shaders but after i got them done and went to add some to the alfa i noted that the tirebug was fixed so the tires flex but dont have gap on them anymore

    F1 1982 Mod Cars 25.png

    Now the tire flexes as its supposed to flex but i might need to tweak the Graphical offset just by a littlebit.
    F1 1982 Mod Cars 26.png

    I also finished the arrows shaders for the car F1 1982 Mod Cars 27.png

    F1 1982 Mod Cars 28.png
     
    pascom, GPNeville, pkelly and 2 others like this.
  11. jymp

    jymp Registered

    Joined:
    May 26, 2013
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    92
    Did F1 change the rear tire sizes for 82' and beyond ?, notice how much smaller the rear tires are than on the 70's, 80' & 81' cars ?.
     
  12. Endor

    Endor Registered

    Joined:
    May 10, 2018
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    99
    Yes. first changes in 1981 with rear tires a bit reduced, and in 1982 bigger front tires, reaching same height than rear
     
  13. jymp

    jymp Registered

    Joined:
    May 26, 2013
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    92
    Thanks, thought so, IRL the cars looked much different from 80’ back thru 70’s
     
  14. EmperorOfFinland

    EmperorOfFinland Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2021
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    695
    I have been tweaking the mod even more with postipate, i have been working with turboengine but for some reason the first 2 boostlevels work as expected but then the turbo boost level does not change on the engine itself. i have been editiing turbine flow effects to adjust the power of the engine.


    TurboInertia=1.15e-4
    TurboFriction=(0.002,2.5)
    TurboStaticFrictionWatts=100
    TurbineFlowTable=(0,0.00756)
    TurbineFlowEffects=(1, 0.52)
    TurbineFlowEffects=(1.005, 0.53)
    TurbineFlowEffects=(1.01, 0.55)
    TurbineFlowEffects=(1.016, 0.58)
    TurbineFlowEffects=(1.023, 0.6)
    TurbineFlowEffects=(1.031, 0.63)
    TurbineFlowEffects=(1.04, 0.65)
    TurbineFlowEffects=(1.05, 0.67)
    TurbineFlowEffects=(1.061, 0.685)
    TurbineFlowEffects=(1.073, 0.697)
    TurbineFlowEffects=(1.086, 0.706)
    TurbineFlowEffects=(1.1, 0.711)
    TurbineFlowEffects=(1.115, 0.715)
    TurbineFlowEffects=(1.132, 0.718)
    TurbineFlowEffects=(1.15, 0.72)
    TurbineFlowEffects=(1.17, 0.716)
    TurbineFlowEffects=(1.192, 0.71)
    TurbineFlowEffects=(1.213, 0.695)
    TurbineFlowEffects=(1.238, 0.68)
    TurbineFlowEffects=(1.262, 0.665)
    TurbineFlowEffects=(1.293, 0.655)
    TurbineFlowEffects=(1.334, 0.64)
    TurbineFlowEffects=(1.387, 0.63)
    TurbineFlowEffects=(1.46, 0.618)
    TurbineFlowEffects=(1.568, 0.608)
    TurbineFlowEffects=(1.738, 0.6)
    TurbineFlowEffects=(1.800, 0.599)
    //TurbineFlowEffects=(2, 0.595)
    //TurbineFlowEffects=(2.20, 0.594)
    //TurbineFlowEffects=(2.40, 0.593)
    //TurbineFlowEffects=(2.9, 0.592)
    //TurbineFlowEffects=(3.1, 0.591)
    //TurbineFlowEffects=(3.25, 0.590)
    //TurbineFlowEffects=(3.35, 0.589)
    //TurbineFlowEffects=(3.4, 0.588)
    //TurbineFlowEffects=(3.45, 0.587)
    //TurbineFlowEffects=(3.48, 0.586)
    IntakeVolumePerRevolution=0.9
    ExhaustBaseProperties=(1175,1180,0.187,0.222,-3.35e-5)
    CompressorTable=(25000,0.0302)
    CompressorPressRatio=(1)
    CompressorEfficiency=(0)
    CompressorSurgeLineFlow=0
    CompressorPressRatio=(1.116, 1.115, 1.095, 1.066, 1.035, 1.001, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1)
    CompressorEfficiency=(0.25, 0.45, 0.59, 0.45, 0.4, 0.35, 0.3, 0.25, 0.2, 0.15, 0.1, 0.05, 0, 0, 0, 0)
    CompressorSurgeLineFlow=0.019
    CompressorPressRatio=(1.31, 1.325, 1.325, 1.31, 1.275, 1.23, 1.17, 1.1, 1.015, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1)
    CompressorEfficiency=(0.28, 0.5, 0.61, 0.71, 0.74, 0.68, 0.58, 0.47, 0.4, 0.35, 0.25, 0.15, 0.05, 0, 0, 0, 0)
    CompressorSurgeLineFlow=0.037
    CompressorPressRatio=(1.68, 1.705, 1.72, 1.73, 1.73, 1.71, 1.66, 1.6, 1.495, 1.35, 1.14, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1)
    CompressorEfficiency=(0.26, 0.45, 0.55, 0.65, 0.7, 0.75, 0.775, 0.765, 0.68, 0.6, 0.45, 0.3, 0.2, 0.1, 0, 0, 0)
    CompressorSurgeLineFlow=0.058
    CompressorPressRatio=(2.17, 2.2, 2.23, 2.27, 2.31, 2.34, 2.36, 2.36, 2.33, 2.25, 2.12, 1.91, 1.53, 1.05, 1, 1, 1)
    CompressorEfficiency=(0.25, 0.33, 0.38, 0.46, 0.53, 0.605, 0.69, 0.75, 0.765, 0.775, 0.75, 0.65, 0.45, 0.23, 0.11, 0, 0)
    CompressorSurgeLineFlow=0.08
    CompressorPressRatio=(3.26, 3.28, 3.31, 3.33, 3.34, 3.35, 3.36, 3.35, 3.33, 3.3, 3.25, 3.17, 2.97, 2.5, 1.58, 1.01, 1)
    CompressorEfficiency=(0.24, 0.3, 0.36, 0.55, 0.58, 0.61, 0.63, 0.65, 0.665, 0.68, 0.7, 0.715, 0.68, 0.6, 0.49, 0.25, 0)
    CompressorSurgeLineFlow=0.104
    CompressorPressRatio=(4.22, 4.24, 4.26, 4.29, 4.32, 4.34, 4.36, 4.36, 4.35, 4.33, 4.28, 4.23, 4.1, 3.81, 3.16, 2.05, 1)
    CompressorEfficiency=(0.23, 0.29, 0.35, 0.47, 0.49, 0.51, 0.53, 0.55, 0.56, 0.57, 0.58, 0.59, 0.6, 0.58, 0.5, 0.33, 0)
    CompressorSurgeLineFlow=0.13
    BoostTurboPressure=(150000,18000)
    WastegateBoostMeasurement=1
    Wastegate=(-1500,0.0,1500,1.0)
    IntakeLeak=1e-7
    DumpValve=(150000,120000,1e-6)

    So im sorta unsure what i should adjust over here to get the engine to work as expected as if i add too much turbineflow effect the engine has too much power.

    So practically the first 3 boost levels work but after that they dont work
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2021
    Corti and Mauro like this.
  15. doddynco

    doddynco Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2017
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    528
    BoostTurboPressure=

    First number sets the point at which the wastegate opens, second is addition of pressure per boost setting.

    It's possible that the compressor efficiency is low enough, and the turbo doesn't spool fast enough to trigger the wastegate.

    The best way to understand how the turbo is actually behaving (in terms of compressor ratio), is to close the wastegate. Simply change the max opening to zero (Wastegate=(-1500,0.0,1500,0.0)

    Make sure that your turbo needle is calibrated in the car, remembering that 1 bar is atmopheric pressure.

    Now tune the turbo so that you're getting perhaps 10/20% higher boost pressure than the real car performance.

    Once you done that you should turn the wastegate back on and calibrate it (like a restrictor)

    Now you should see realistic performance with the correct boost.
     
    trollray, djvicious, Mauro and 2 others like this.
  16. EmperorOfFinland

    EmperorOfFinland Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2021
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    695
    Oh thank you doddynco this will make it much easier for me and postipate to tweak the engine based on this. i will setup a car with boostneedle on it to observe the pressure on the car so its easier to debug i can get into testing this now
     
  17. EmperorOfFinland

    EmperorOfFinland Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2021
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    695
    hmm the question is how much boost the engine should have as the boost i use is around 2.25-2.4bar for the car albeit i think it might be slightly more so more boost is needed. so the enginemap needs a littlebit of editing to reach around 2.5-3.0 bar at qualiboost
     
  18. EmperorOfFinland

    EmperorOfFinland Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2021
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    695
    Okay i spent the day tweaking the engines with postipate and i did shaders for 2 cars - the helmets again.

    ATS

    F1 1982 Mod Cars 29.png

    F1 1982 Mod Cars 30.png

    Brabham F1 1982 Mod Cars 31.png

    F1 1982 Mod Cars 32.png
     
    pascom, Hazi, Corti and 2 others like this.
  19. EmperorOfFinland

    EmperorOfFinland Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2021
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    695
    Ilman Turboa.png

    Turbo moottori.png I have been tweaking the engines with postipate and this is how the turboengine has turned out to be the durability numbers are not final but the powerfigures are. the engine actually makes 550hp on quali trim and around 480hp on boost 4

    Atmos engine.png

    Here is the atmosengine and it makes around 510hp but transmissionlosses bring it to around 480hp ingame
     
    doddynco and Mauro like this.
  20. Endor

    Endor Registered

    Joined:
    May 10, 2018
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    99
    will you change the arms ?
     

Share This Page