Using the Material Editor

Discussion in 'Track Modding' started by OoperDuper, Nov 3, 2021.

1. OoperDuper

OoperDuper Registered

I am fairly new to rFactor 2 modding and I am having trouble trying to use the material editor when texturing my road. I am attempting to use the IBLRoad shader but when ever I try to apply a file to one of the textures at the bottom of the material editor, it seems to have no effect. When I do select a file, the preview image does not pop up as if there is some error happening. The only texture that has really worked in this shader is albedo but others seem to have no visible effect. Any help for understanding the material editor or understanding texturing in general would be greatly appreciated.

2. Jka

Jka Member Staff Member

Road shader uses several mapping channels (A to D in mat editor, 1 to 4 in 3ds max) for different type of textures, like albedo, overlay, groove, marbles etc. (please refer the documentation for more details). Road mesh must contain mapping coords in corresponding channels for all these. You also have to setup basic road material in max mat editor and apply this material to the road mesh. After that you can export the road mesh to the game using 3ds max GMT exporter.

When that is done, then you can load the track in scene viewer, launch material editor and start configuring and adjusting the road shader.

If you are trying to edit in (game) material road mesh, which contains mapping coords only in single channel, then editing alternative textures or settings does not have any effect in game.

3. OoperDuper

OoperDuper Registered

I guess I should also note I have been creating all my GMT assets in Blender and using the GMT exporter created by @Traveller (https://forum.studio-397.com/index.php?threads/rfactor2-export-scripts-for-blender-2-80.68007/).