USF2000 Baseline Setup

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by SputnikRSS, Oct 25, 2017.

1. SputnikRSS

SputnikRSS Registered

Looking for a baseline setup for the USF2000 car. Currently my major issue is the lack of mechanical grip especially at low speeds. The car can somehow do a tank slapper while only traveling 40kph and any throttle application out of a slow corner is almost an instant spin.

I am not sure how a F2000 with slicks would ever behave this way as I do race one in real life and it behaves nothing like this.

2. bwana

bwana Registered

Would be interested in your perception of the handling other than the above issue ?

3. SputnikRSS

SputnikRSS Registered

Nothing similar really. The real cars are very predictable and stable cars the sim version is seems very twitchy to me and lacks grip pretty much everywhere. High speed corners you can pull 2.5Gs but in the sim the cars just seem to wash away the more you push. As I mentioned the low speed handling is terrible in the sim meanwhile in the real world these cars are great and can be thrown around the low speed stuff very easily as they are very nimble with more than enough tire for grip.

The sim also seems to like to light up the rear tires which is kind of hard in real life as they don't have a ton of torque so unless you are coming out of a slow corner most of the time you just lightly step out and then instantly regain traction.

atomed, UsedMomo, vegaguy5555 and 3 others like this.
  4. peterchen

peterchen Registered

Sounds like there is another issue present for you.
    Can you post a video showing your problem?

5. Lu ManiaK

Lu ManiaK Registered

Softer springs, lower camber in front and maybe higher in the rear (but it depends from suspension setting) and, probably, raise the car up just a bit. It is you the driver in the video?

6. SputnikRSS

SputnikRSS Registered

Tried softer springs and reduced the rake of the car and it helped somewhat will try some camber changes tonight.