Tyre care?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Amanda Santini, Aug 13, 2017.

1. Amanda Santini

Amanda Santini Registered

Having read a bit about rFactor 2, I noticed people tend to say they need to manage their tyre more than in other simulators. Some people came from other simulators, began doing really good laps at first, but at around mid race were losing 1 or 2 seconds per lap because of tyre wear and ended up losing positions because of this.

Since I'm new to rFactor 2, I must ask: for a good pace and tyre conservation, should I hear any scrubbing at all while on corners? Or is some scrubbing OK? On Assetto Corsa I can do 2:15:9 on SPA with the C7R and soft tyres, but on rFactor 2 with the C6R (or worse, the C7R from URD) and the laser-scanned SPA (which is the same track as on AC), if I intentionally drive to the point of not hearing any scrubs I do 2:24.
    With the 997R GT3 from Apex Modding I can manage 2:17/2:18 while almost not hearing any scrubbing at all.

And also: what is the maximum temperature you would allow your tyres to reach? On that double left hand corner at SPA, my tyres sometimes reach 150-200 degrees if I'm too aggressive, but that only lasts for about 2 seconds.

Last edited: Aug 13, 2017
  2. peterchen

peterchen Registered

Sure you should hear tyre scrubbing! And it´s normal that in some situations temps can rise that high.
    But don´t be too excessive! Ramp tyre sounds up in options so you better hear what tyre is doing.
    You propably need some league with people who are experienced.

Amanda Santini likes this.
  3. Emery

Emery Registered

Different series will have different tires, so don't assume tires respond the same in all series. Brief skyrocketing surface temps are okay, provided you didn't do that under braking and thus created a flatspot. In general, yes, you should hear a little scrubbing.