Track IR, FaceTrackNoIR, etc...

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Golanv, Feb 11, 2013.

1. Golanv

Golanv Registered

Is there any point in paying for Track IR, rather than using regular webcam and downloading one of the other softwares for free/cheaper?
    Any experiences and opinnions about this type of tech in racing sims or just in general would be much appreciated.

2. BrokkelPiloot

BrokkelPiloot Registered

I am using FreeTrack which works like a charm for me. I also modded an old webcam by removing the IR filter and inserting a piece of disk form a floppy disk. So it can only see IR light. I then ordered some simple IR leds (4) and some resistors to make the cap/headphone mod. Really simple and cost me just a few euro's.

http://www.free-track.net/english/

I have no experience with other software however. But I can't seem to come up with a reason to pay for such a product since the free alternatives work perfectly for me.

3. YoLolo69

YoLolo69 Registered

FaceTrackNoIR work really well. Now, integrated solution will eat less fps as a lot of management are made inside the electronic module, and not by the computer cpu. So if you have an enough powerful machine you can use a free webcam solution, and it's fine. Saying that, I didn't notice a lot of fps lost when I used the freeware, even on my previous laptop (dual core 2,80). So my advice will be: try the free solution first ;)

4. Golanv

Golanv Registered

Unfortunatly I dont have a wheel atm, but I will try to fiddle around with the free ones and see how they work. I have heard that there is random issues with some of the free ones, lag, detection problems, etc... and some say that they havent had any problems what so ever. I guess it could be that the equipment, user and circumstances causes most of those problems.

I use 42" tv as close as I can get it with the wheel in the middle, and I'd like to bring more easy access to the mirrors, and rest of the cockpit view.

5. Gearjammer