Template Logistics

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Yoeri Gijsen, Jan 1, 2018.

1. Yoeri Gijsen

Yoeri Gijsen Registered

First of all, a happy new year to everyone here and over at the office.

For a few weeks I've thrown myself into the wonderful world of painting one's own car and it's been a creative blast. I highly appreciate the fact that there are templates available with layered effects and wireframes, all of which make it relatively easy to start working, even for someone with no graphics design background like me. Really, I've been chain-painting livery after livery (of questionable standard, no doubt) and feel like doing more.

As a total noob, I've run into several issues related to the logitics and availability of templates, which I will outline below. Hopefully you can point me in the right direction or perhaps no such thing is possible, in which case I hope the issue will be considered at Studio 397.

Availability (of older templates)
    Quite a few in-house and 3PA templates can be found in the 'Templates' folder within the rFactor 2 root folder. Very nice! However, a lot of the in-house ISI era templates cannot be found there, which is a bit of a pity. The ISI download page has gone offline as well, cutting the main source to find them on the web, though some communities still have some of them available, such as SimRacingPro. Here too, however, some templates are lacking.

I've been looking for the StockCar 2015 templates, but they are nowhere to be found, which is silly considering that Studio 397 actually updated the game to suit that specific mod better in their first months.