Still no way to add KERS for F1?

Discussion in 'Modding' started by Exigeous, Jul 9, 2021.

1. Exigeous

Exigeous Registered

I can only find very old forums relating to RF2 and I see there was a plugin for RF1 that added KERS - is this a dead topic and just can't happen? I saw a mention about "cheat protection" and because adding power would be a "cheat" it couldn't be done - I find that a bit hard to buy as it seems that could be modded around but as I'm fairly new to RF2 I don't know.

A friend has gotten me addicted to RF2, I just can't go back to anything else but I really REALLY want KERS for F1 races as it's a pretty big miss to not have.

~X

2. John R Denman

John R Denman Registered

I may still have that Plug-in; as I recall it came with FSOne 2009 Offline version (each car had different physics; the Online version had common physics). It didn't work with all wheels, was a bit clunky but it worked sort of. Keep a light foot on the brake and its always charging.

3. Exigeous

Exigeous Registered

Okay, tell me more please? Is this the RF1 plugin? And what is "FSOne 2009" - is that a car pack or something? BTW looking at that mod it looks like that's an rFactor 1 mod, not RF2, is that right?

~X

4. John R Denman

John R Denman Registered

FSOne 2009 had 2 versions for rF1, and IMO was the best mod ever created for rF1. Someone converted the Multi-Player version with the common physics to rF2, but not the entire package. The Single Player version was not converted.

There was a small charge level indicator. I suspect it was a timer with a preset start value, may have been configurable in the Plug-In can't recall. When boost button was pushed it would add power similar to turbo boost while counting down the timer. If the timer reached zero power dropped. When the brakes were applied timer count increased.