[SOUND] distance and orientation factors for external

Discussion in 'Wish Lists' started by nothke, Oct 7, 2012.

1. nothke

nothke Registered

First of all, I don't want to sound arrogant cause I am quite naive in this, so take this more as from someone with a common sense. I have to say that I am no professional programmer and never met with the "real" matter, but I spent many years of my life modding, including rFactor, so I know how, at least some, things function. I also must warn that I have no idea if this has already been implemented in rf2, or any other game cause I was working on rf1.

I must say I am really unimpressed by the sound in rf2.. Not only by it's quality, but in lack of improvement.

While I was trying to record sounds for my mod, I realised that the external sound is completely different in the front than in the back, right in front of exhaust, or right in front of the engine, the sound also greatly varied with distance, few centimetres, just above the bonnet, a meter, 100 meters, kilometre.. So of course this is nothing new, you've seen this and heard so many times. But it presented a great challenge for me, what exactly to take as external sound..

Now if you think engine sound in games is unrealistic, You could say it's because of the sound recording, quality, threshold, bad positioning.. But lets take it's the absolute best quality and well refined for human ear, still, it's not good, I'd say, it's 99% because these factors I mentioned before are neglected.