Rfactor2 The VR thread -settings & tips

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Adrianstealth, Apr 30, 2017.

  1. JimmyT

    JimmyT Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    112
    Thanks Gentlemen, I reinstalled the driver and software for Oculus and seem to have resolved this issue for now. o_O Not sure what went on but hasn't happened since reinstall. Fingers crossed. ;)
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2018
    Shawn Jacobs likes this.
  2. elbo

    elbo Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    93
    Using rift CV1, just installed the native google earth, had been using the steam version before. The native one is so much smoother to use...can only imagine what benefits a native oculus version for RF2 would bring us...too bad no effort seems to be put towards that.
     
    tiffarno likes this.
  3. MarcG

    MarcG Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,052
    Likes Received:
    1,460
    We'll see how the upcoming performance updates help although I fully agree dedicated Oculus support would be better than SteamVR, for now add your name to the list below, the more the merrier and the more means S397 may consider it a future thing to do.

    https://forum.studio-397.com/index.php?threads/direct-oculus-sdk-support.59427/
     
  4. MarcG

    MarcG Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,052
    Likes Received:
    1,460
    Adrianstealth likes this.
  5. hangon

    hangon Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    14
    Holy crap was waiting for this..I thought if it's $600.00 canadian I might reluctantly pull the trigger..but $999.00 !! WTF..forget that..just not worth it..HTC has put a premium on for early buyers..my original vive headset will do just fine
     
    Adrianstealth likes this.
  6. MarcG

    MarcG Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,052
    Likes Received:
    1,460
    Blimey it's more expensive in £££ that I thought...£800 just for the HMD, that's insane :eek:
     
    Narrowbackwing and Adrianstealth like this.
  7. Adrianstealth

    Adrianstealth Registered

    Joined:
    May 28, 2012
    Messages:
    4,310
    Likes Received:
    796
    happy with my CV1, looking forward to more news on this potential new google headset using a 120hz OLED screen with a super high resolution I think 14k ( we can reduce the pixel , so it will be like 0.6 instead of 1.5 etc ) , they are developing software tech that renders fully the center only to save on PC load , exciting times

    giving the vive pro a miss, awaiting a bigger jump in specs to move from my trusty CV1
     
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2018
  8. 2ndLastJedi

    2ndLastJedi Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    713
    With this on the horizon there must also be something in the works from Oculus ,so the future of VR is bright indeed .
     
    Narrowbackwing and Adrianstealth like this.
  9. Ricknau

    Ricknau Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    744
    Likes Received:
    25
    Fingers crossed for the Pimax 8K.
     
    Narrowbackwing and The Iron Wolf like this.
  10. Shawn Jacobs

    Shawn Jacobs Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2016
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    67
    I am suspect if we will see anything big come from oculus going forward, I have a feeling they're just going to go more gimmicky and social media based now.
     
    Adrianstealth likes this.
  11. marvelharvey

    marvelharvey Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2013
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    105
    Wow at the recent Windows Mixed Reality performance update. I've turned up almost every graphical setting up one notch and my Odyssey still maintains 90fps. Feels like a new GPU!
     
  12. Cote Dazur

    Cote Dazur Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2017
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    15
    I would like a tutorial on the best way to mimick LTH, until it is avalaible as an official setting.
     
  13. 2ndLastJedi

    2ndLastJedi Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    713
  14. Seven Smiles

    Seven Smiles Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    304
    Lock To Horizon. Is it more than setting these options to zero to get rid of head movement? That's what I use.
    Code:
            "Graphic Options": {
              "Car Vibration Mult1": 0,
              "Car Vibration Mult2": 0,
              "Car Vibration Mult1#": "Primary engine vibration multiplier affects position of cameras attached directly to the car",
              "Cockpit Vibration Mult1": 0,
              "Cockpit Vibration Mult2": 0,
              "Cockpit Vibration Mult1#": "Primary aerodynamic vibration multiplier affects eyepoint position (base magnitude is in VEH or cockpit file)",
              "Exaggerate Yaw": 0,
              "Exaggerate Yaw#": "Visually exaggerates the heading angle of the vehicle by rotating the head (which may improve \"feel\")",
              "Head Physics": 0,
              "Head Physics#": "Fraction of head physics movement applied to cockpit view (position AND rotation)",
              "Look Roll Angle": 0,
              "Look Roll Angle#": "Angle to lean head (roll) w\/ controller in radians (= degrees \/ 57)",
              "Look Up/Down Angle": 0,
              "Look Up/Down Angle#": "Angle to look up\/down (pitch) w\/ controller in radians (= degrees \/ 57)",
     
    2ndLastJedi, MaD_King and Cote Dazur like this.
  15. Seven Smiles

    Seven Smiles Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    304
  16. Cote Dazur

    Cote Dazur Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2017
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    15
    thank you, i agree it is more than just freeze everything, but I rather have less movement than having the horizon jumping. hopefully, with the new management in place, we will eventually get LTH, but meanwhile I will try those settings.
     
  17. MarcG

    MarcG Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,052
    Likes Received:
    1,460
    Big SteamVR Update came to the default branch yesterday, all the details here:
    https://steamcommunity.com/gid/103582791435040972/announcements/detail/1658889109634914493

    Just in case anyone was concerned that SteamVR screwed up their SS setting (they have reset it), the old way does equate to %, so if you had it on 3.0 = 300%
    Official response:
    Alex Vlachos [developer] 10 hours ago
    Marc - if your old SS setting was 3.2, the new setting would be 320%
     
  18. 2ndLastJedi

    2ndLastJedi Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    713
    @MarcG what specs is your PC and what settings do you use for rF2 and is that 3.2 really your Steam SS ?
     
  19. MarcG

    MarcG Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,052
    Likes Received:
    1,460
    Specs in profile and yes 320% or 3.2 in old money!
     
  20. 2ndLastJedi

    2ndLastJedi Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    713
    So how do you manage rF2 with that PC?
    What in game and launcher settings?
     

Share This Page