Rfactor2 The VR thread -settings & tips

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Adrianstealth, Apr 30, 2017.

  1. MarcG

    MarcG Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,732
    Likes Received:
    2,095
    It's definitely dependant on each system and it's configuration, remembering VR is still early tech so there really isn't a Golden Setting that works for everyone across the board...well apart from everyone having the latest GPU perhaps!

    I too tried PP Effects today and even though the performance on Low is vastly improved from the last time I tried it, it still bogs me down a bit on my system with an average of Medium in game settings & 1.4 PPD. I didn't get a chance to properly test shadows.

    As always it's about finding what makes you happy and taking into consideration that there is more optimisation to come, for me I can handle FPS slightly lower than 45 on Race Start knowing it will lock to 45 soon after for the rest of the race (visible vehicles is a good setting to adjust), what I need to have though is PPD on 1.4 (or higher when I can handle it on small tracks/less detailed mods), anything lower and it's too poor for me.
     
  2. The Iron Wolf

    The Iron Wolf Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2016
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    972
    Speaking of happiness... earlier I realized how happy I am with VR in rF2! I've been racing in vorpX since last June, and was quite happy to get 45FPS there. Now, we have the real thing, real 3D imagine, good tracking, all this is really awesome. Let's hope there will be further optimizations, but it is also important to remember that just a month ago things were worse than today.
     
    MarcG likes this.
  3. Ville-Samuli Mutanen

    Ville-Samuli Mutanen Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    12
    Is there a way to re-center the view in rF2? For some reason my view is always either off center position or pointing in the wrong direction. Using Oculus CV1.
     
  4. Magus

    Magus Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    809
    Likes Received:
    515
    Look forward/centre and then press CTRL+ Space
     
  5. Ville-Samuli Mutanen

    Ville-Samuli Mutanen Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    12
    That's what I thought but it just does not want to work properly. It will reset the view but not re-center no matter what.
     
  6. bluet

    bluet Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    23
    go to steam vr settings and re do setup...use standing.. not room scale.. make sure you are looking straight ahead and sitting in your seat when you do the set up...... then in game ctrl and space ..all should be good then and in game use seat up/down/forward/back good luck:)
     
    mike.m likes this.
  7. Korva7

    Korva7 Registered

    Joined:
    May 22, 2014
    Messages:
    700
    Likes Received:
    204
    Should the fps counter work in the same way in vr as with screens? Last time i tried it i assigned button for the fps thing, but the counter didn't appear any where. Does it work for other people in vr, or do you use fraps or something else?

    Does it have effect if you look in different direction while doing the reset?
     
  8. MarcG

    MarcG Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,732
    Likes Received:
    2,095
    No fps counter in VR yet,

    edit: oh yes the Tray Tool utilises the OculusSDK so you can get an FPS counter that way but it's huge and takes up a lot of your view!
     
    Last edited: May 25, 2017
    Korva7 likes this.
  9. Ville-Samuli Mutanen

    Ville-Samuli Mutanen Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    12
    No. Always the same mis-alignment. That issue I only have with rF2.

    Btw. Oculus Tray Tool gives you tools to measure FPS in VR titles.
     
    Korva7 and MarcG like this.
  10. MarcG

    MarcG Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,732
    Likes Received:
    2,095
    Have you run the SteamVR Room Setup as advised? and just to be safe your Oculus Viewpoint is correct?
     
    mike.m likes this.
  11. Ville-Samuli Mutanen

    Ville-Samuli Mutanen Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    12
    Thanks. Got it working. Did both, Oculus and Steam VR setups again. Couldn't do the room scale setup though because it looks like touch controllers are required (in Steam VR).
     
    MarcG likes this.
  12. MarcG

    MarcG Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,732
    Likes Received:
    2,095
    Yeah the Standing one is best anyway.
     
    Ville-Samuli Mutanen likes this.
  13. jkn87

    jkn87 Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    2
    Pp: is it me or using pp makes my mirrors unuseful? All I see I is glare glow bright burnt mirrors
     
  14. MarcG

    MarcG Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,732
    Likes Received:
    2,095
    What Car? What Setting of PP?
     
  15. elbo

    elbo Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    171
    To what should I be setting the audio to in RF2 if I am using the rift headsets. Stereo speakers or something else?
     
  16. Narrowbackwing

    Narrowbackwing Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    156
    My windows default setting is rift audio, so I set it to Windows audio or something like that .
     
  17. MarcG

    MarcG Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,732
    Likes Received:
    2,095
    I use "headphones" I think in game, tip: in SteamVR settings you can automatically change from your speakers to headphones and back again when running with the Rift, very handy.
     
    Ceolmor likes this.
  18. TheMattyOnline

    TheMattyOnline Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2016
    Messages:
    583
    Likes Received:
    480
    Anyone had issues with using the DK2 with Crimson drivers from AMD?
    If I leave the default Windows 10 generic driver for my RX480 it works fine
    If I install the crimson drivers, I get the HDMI no plugged in error and cant get it to work.
     
  19. PaulG

    PaulG Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    30
  20. Adrianstealth

    Adrianstealth Registered

    Joined:
    May 28, 2012
    Messages:
    4,543
    Likes Received:
    1,044
    brill, bet we'll have a new headset next year

    in the meantime my cv1 has to be replaced due to right sound cutting out ( ribbon connection loose )
    )-:
     

Share This Page