Rfactor2 The VR thread -settings & tips

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Adrianstealth, Apr 30, 2017.

  1. DJChrizz

    DJChrizz Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2017
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    11
    I use this driver now. Repacked with NVSlimmer_v0.11
    456.71-desktop-notebook-win10-64bit-international.hf.exe
    Changing to NO XMP profile on Overclock, so a little lower speed, nothing noticeable.
    prerenderd frames in Nvidia control panel - off now
    Max Screenfrequ. set to 91
    No oc the cpu or gpu
    in Steam VR smoothing and SS to 85 (for me)
    I notice sometime a peakes while loading the track, on the racetrack most time no problem
    Its nice and good playable since 5 days now in full detail settings, 4 x AA (but on a RTX 3090) smooth and look awsome.
     
  2. Kelju_K

    Kelju_K Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2013
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    257
    rfactor 2 benefits from overclocking the gpu, most of all the games i have ever played. has been same with all my nvidia cards and it 's so with the 6800xt too. I definately recommend overclocking the gpu with this game, especially with nvidia cards.
    Only game(s) that came close, how much oc has had effect on performance with my nvidia cards, was the battlefield franchise. but even that was not on par on oc benefits with this game.

    I make a guide to oc your gpus for this game.
    i link the thread here when it's done.

    https://forum.studio-397.com/index.php?threads/overclocking-your-gpu-for-rfactor-2.69689/

    Done.
     
    Last edited: May 25, 2021
    atomed and lagg like this.
  3. Cox

    Cox Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Clemenca. Any solution about that? In my team we have the same problem.
     
  4. Beef36

    Beef36 Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    20
    I'm re-trying Oculus Rift VR for the first time since last year when we moved to the UI, and need help on how to see the mouse pointer.

    Last year under the old UI I had no issues using the mouse to navigate and use the menu screens, however with this new UI, I can't see my mouse in VR.

    I can see my mouse pointer on the mirrored screen view on my monitor, albeit it does not select any of the menu options except the News; which is the only thing that does respond to mouse clicks.

    However when viewing within the VR Headset, I cannot see the mouse pointer in VR at all.

    VR is working fine for other games. Would anyone know what I am doing wrong?

    Thanks in advance.
    rF2 - VR - Unusable Mouse 20210709_135452.jpg rF2 - VR - Unusable Mouse 20210709_135452.jpg rF2 - VR - Unusable Mouse 20210709_135452.jpg
     
  5. Daniel Erstling

    Daniel Erstling Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2020
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    7
    What kind of resolution are you using for the mirror? As far as i remember, there have been some issues taking other aspect ratios than 16:9. Maybe just try going for 1920x1080 and see if that fixes it.

    What HMD are you using? Rift S here and no problems with rF2 luckily.
     
    Beef36 and juanchioooo like this.
  6. Beef36

    Beef36 Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    20
    Thanks for this. Changing my monitor's resolution fixed my mouse pointer issues in VR.

    Cheers
     
    Daniel Erstling likes this.
  7. PhilT

    PhilT Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2021
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    4
  8. vincenzo

    vincenzo Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2021
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi i have the same problem as you using reverb g2, tell me how can i solve? thank you
     
  9. Magus

    Magus Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    498
    When launching rF2 from steam choose the rf2 configuration/settings option (instead of run rF2), set the monitor resolution to 1920 x 1080.
     
    Binny likes this.
  10. vincenzo

    vincenzo Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2021
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks, i finally solved
     
  11. Magus

    Magus Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    498
  12. FERNANDO CABRERA

    FERNANDO CABRERA Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    39
    Today I see a new tool that basically enable the use of AMD FSR upscaling algorithm to any openvr title: openvr_fsr

    Here the basic idea is that you set your target resolution on steamvr (200% native resolution) and using openvr_fsr the game will run at a lower resolution at a faster fps and the resulting image upscaled to the target resolution.
    I have been testing it in other sims before trying in rfactor2, i where able to active a VR quality uplift in assetto corsa to 300% res scale with a factor of 0.68% and same frame rate that i had before using a 160% ss
    ACC is a different beast and it runs in my laptop been cpu limited, using fsr only queen the cpu usage.
    Automobilista 2 also see a quality uplift till i hit a cpu hog, like water puddles and stars to shutter during the effect duration.
    I'll test r rfactor2 tomorrow and see if there's any gain. In quality or fps.
    Maybe I'll finally get to 90fps in rfactor2 in my old laptop.
    Here is the site where the mod it's been post

    https://github.com/fholger/openvr_fsr
     
  13. juanchioooo

    juanchioooo Registered

    Joined:
    May 16, 2016
    Messages:
    1,440
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    that definitely didn't work out well for me:(:(:(
     
  14. Seven Smiles

    Seven Smiles Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    924
    Likes Received:
    971
    openvr_fsr note:
     

Share This Page