Rfactor2 The VR thread -settings & tips

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Adrianstealth, Apr 30, 2017.

  1. felirrari

    felirrari Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    46
    +1
    So much discussion too, it would be nice to have an objective guide to VR settings. We have so much suggestions here that we don't know what is still working and what really makes difference to the performance. I watch my CPU and GPU uses and looks like they still have room to improve but I don't know how to do it. Experienced users or @Marcel Offermans please help us with it.
     
    DrivingFast and memoNo1 like this.
  2. DrivingFast

    DrivingFast Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2018
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    525

    A manual to help adjust the graphics, especially VR, as accurate as possible, can it be achieved by S397 ?
    @Marcel Offermans

    If not done, as requested above, it would be great if a user at ease in English could make a synthesis of these... 100 pages.

    For non-English speaking users it's impossible to read everything even with google translate (many bad translations).
     
  3. Depco

    Depco Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Messages:
    772
    Likes Received:
    451
    I have been looking around for the open VR set up that allows me to use rF2 without having both steamVR and oculus open at the same time. Does that still exist?
     
  4. Nick1402

    Nick1402 Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
  5. Andrew Waddington

    Andrew Waddington Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    9
    In VR using the Pimax 5k+, because the FOV is so wide, depending on the car it sometimes will clip the near view such as the roof/side of car, or the seat head restraints etc. Does anyone know if there is an option anywhere in JSON file to change the clip distance like there is in Project cars 2 called "Camera Near Clip Plane"?
     
  6. Depco

    Depco Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Messages:
    772
    Likes Received:
    451
  7. Marc Christopher Harris

    Marc Christopher Harris Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    21
    HUD related question.

    I use a 3840 x 2160 resolution monitor, and in VR I have to look at the roof to see the delta, or 90 degrees to the right or the left to see any of the LED menu or the messages window (its so far over I don't even notice messages)

    Is there a guide anywhere of how to move the items/resize them?
     
  8. Depco

    Depco Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Messages:
    772
    Likes Received:
    451
    You have to use a different HUD to move the screen elements. I use one of the VR specific HUDs from the steam workshop. I can't recall which one as I am not at home and cant access steam right now. Just check the workshop for HUDs and you will find them.

    @Nick1402 I tried the OpenOVR and the game is now crashing at track loading screen. I did not have much time to troubleshoot before I had to end my session. Is this a known issue and is there a fix?
     
  9. juanchioooo

    juanchioooo Registered

    Joined:
    May 16, 2016
    Messages:
    626
    Likes Received:
    610
    I had it on but I did not see any improvement, and I have dismissed it, I'm better off steam vr:(:(
     
  10. DrivingFast

    DrivingFast Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2018
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    525
    With the Rift S, OpenVR works really well.

    There are bugs, but very few.

    I'm afraid ASW Oculus can not work with SteamVR.

    I recommend OpenVR for Rift S ;)
     
  11. Tom smith

    Tom smith Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there any plan too update the first page in this thread? would be useful. Thanks
     
  12. TOCA2FREAK

    TOCA2FREAK Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    792
    Likes Received:
    96
    Hi Marc,

    Just set your game resolution to 1920x1080 Windowed mode. That will make the HUD appear more in front of you. Unfortunately you are not able to move these elements around though. Maybe one day when the new UI comes out. ;)
     
  13. Marc Christopher Harris

    Marc Christopher Harris Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    21
    Thanks "TOCA2FREAK". Good to hear from you.
     
  14. The Iron Wolf

    The Iron Wolf Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2016
    Messages:
    850
    Likes Received:
    715
    You can create your own hud/modify existing in Dev mode.

    Some brief notes from Marcel on how to modify S397 HUD:
    "
    Copy the 397HUD.mas from your Core\HUD folder to ModDev\HUD
    Then open that mas file with the MAS tool and only extract the 397HUD.ini file and also put that in ModDev\HUD
    that should be enough to make that HUD show up in dev mode
    if you edit it, the ini file can be saved with the updates
    if you need to change textures, you need to change those by adding them to that mas file"

    I was able to do it but it is quite a bit of work and learning
     
  15. sherpa25

    sherpa25 Registered

    Joined:
    May 14, 2015
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    19
    Yeah, I wish with the new UI they'd allow adjusting the HUDs easily, as I find it a bit high (currently with reso at 1280x720).
     
  16. Nick1402

    Nick1402 Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2

    I dont use it myself so i dont know if it's broken.
    If RF2 is crashing at the loading screen but VR still works in the main menu then i don't think it's openovr that's causing your crash. Like i said i don't use it myself so i could be wrong.
     
  17. MaD_King

    MaD_King Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,784
    Likes Received:
    552
    Driven yesterday with OpenVR for rF2, no issue.
    There is two .dll available, try the other one if you have crash to be sure.
     
  18. felirrari

    felirrari Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    46
    How to install it? Is there any readme or instructions?
     
  19. sherpa25

    sherpa25 Registered

    Joined:
    May 14, 2015
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    19
  20. Numrollen

    Numrollen Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    13
    I reinstalled my windows and now i have some strange problems. When i start rF2 the message appear:
    "rfactor 2 doesn't support vr it will be played on desktop and coult affect your performance"
    Of course i have VR checkt in the options. Oculus, SteamVR running. Also i have stutter in my Rift while loading and my monitor flicker until i joined. Also the player join lagg is horrible. Everything else is working but not the best fps.
    any ideas=
     

Share This Page