Populated Public Online Server?

Discussion in 'Online Racing Discussion' started by felirrari, Mar 21, 2019.

1. felirrari

felirrari Registered

Hi, i'm an old rFactor driver and missing a lot some servers which I can turn on the PC, and find some races. Older drivers like me can remember BROS and other servers which has used popular mods (like Megane Trophy) and tracks (like Mills, Toban, Essington Park, Barcelona...) on rFactor 1, and we just had to open rFactor to find 20 - 30 drivers per race. They had short races and we just had to wait a little to enter the next circuit to race again. Of course there was a lot of crashes at the start, but we had so much fun. We actually only find leagues or servers with AI. Now we have a better sim, but I think we should use it better than is used now while S397 doesn't bring the competition system.

Now I ask you: Is there any server like this, and if not, what do you think to recreate something like this example? (not necessary use of Megane)
    EDIT:

Last edited: Apr 1, 2019
    SRGP likes this.
  2. Rujasu

Rujasu Registered

It'd be nice for sure, but my experience of the server browser is such that it's unlikely anyone not purposefully looking for it would actually find it.

3. Lazza

Lazza Registered

Absolutely, go ahead. The BROS (and other) servers were great to have as something you could turn up and race on (most of the time), I too had lots of fun on there despite some crashfests at times. Usually at least every 2 or 3 races you could have a really good race-long battle with someone. I think for a lot of us those races were a doorway into leagues, and a good backup when you were sick of practicing for league races. They also bred good racecraft because of the constant (short) races.