PAINT PROBLEM (skin painting)

Discussion in 'Car Modding' started by Ted Striker, Feb 18, 2013.

1. Ted Striker

Ted Striker Registered

Hi all,
    I am just using Photoshop to paint a skin. I' ve done everything according to the instructions of Tim (Paint Guide). So far so good. Now I have two problems:

1. The windows are no longer transparent after saving. (Save with "Save As" >>> then DDs selected and then Photoshop tells me that I must first summarize the levels. however nowhere mentioned in the guide??? (I also activated the alpha channel in the layer control, and selected then DXT5 (8 Interpolated Alpha) .

2. I compared my skin with those of other racers online and my skin reflects too much!! Does anybody know why?

So, I hope someone can help me, I'm a beginner in painting, hope it is only a trifle, perhaps a little settings I forgot to set??

Cheers

2. lordpantsington

lordpantsington Registered

1) DXT5 is correct.
    2) Examine your alpha channel if it is all white, that is why (missing alpha will do the same thing).

3. Ted Striker

Ted Striker Registered

Hi there,

thx for your answer. I`ve tried it. But I really don`t know if I did it right. Can you please explain to me where I can check the alpha channel in Photoshop CS2?

Thank you soo much!

4. tjc

tjc Registered

In the layers palette there are three tabs...

Layers - Channels - Paths.

Click the Channels tab, uncheck all the other channels (Red, Green, Blue and RGB) and check the Alpha channel (if it`s not already checked) then you know your working on the Alpha channel only. :)

5. Ted Striker

Ted Striker Registered

Hi, okay I ve tried it. unchecked all RGB Boxes and checked the alpha channel. after this the car turns into red color. Is that right? also I ve tried to save as DDS with checked Alpha box on and off. nothing works. :-((