Newbie questions about skins-Photoshop

Discussion in 'Modding' started by 1959nikos, Dec 4, 2014.

1. 1959nikos

1959nikos Registered

I noticed that scaling down logos reduces significantly their details.

I turned them to Smart Objects before scaling them down and this conserves most of the detail when they are scaled down.

The problem is, Image Size went up, from 2048X2048 to 7566X7566 and .psd file size from 16,9MB to 177MB.

I then saved as .tga and then tried to save as .dds as I usually do.
    It didnt, instead it warned me that Image Size must be multiple of 4.
    So I changed down Image size to 7564X7564 but now it saves just a 0MB size .dds file.
    Any ideas?

Also, I have seen around very detailed skins, how do they do it?
    I expect much detail will make Image Size bigger, doesnt this affect the servers?
    What is the optimum size for a skin?

Thank you.

2. Lgel

Lgel Registered

Hello,

I am no expert at skinning but I have done some.

For logos I try to find them as .eps, and when I open them I choose a size close to the one I will use in the skin, and I have no problems.

I use skins of 2048 by 2048 more than enough in game.
    I have downlaoded skins made for AC of 4000 x 4000 or even 8000 x 8000 that I have reduced to 2048 and they show nicely in RF2 (EGT skins).

In some cases (see thread about Indycars in Post Your skins here thread) if you put a logo on a part of a template that will be expanded (mirror side of Indycar for instance) it will not be painted nice whatever resolution you try.

Hope it helps.

3. 1959nikos

1959nikos Registered

Im doing that right now thanks :)

4. lordpantsington

lordpantsington Registered

7564 is not 2^nth. Somehow you are scaling the entire image, use transform (Ctrl+T) on the Smart Object layer.

5. Hectari

Hectari Registered