New to sim racing

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by Sandbiter, Jun 30, 2017.

1. Sandbiter

Sandbiter Registered

I'm new to all this. I'm doubting a LOT. If I'll buy a wheel I want to go for a good one, so I won't have to upgrade in a couple of years. I also want a game which won't cost too much but still has an active community and great physics.

I was thinking about buying the Thrustmaster t300 GT edition (includes the t3pa pedals) for around $350. And rFactor 2. I have actually just bought rf2 but I don't have a wheel yet. I have played it an hours with controller now and to be honest it doesn't looks good at all. I know the devs are currently working dx11 and new UI though, which sound good.

Iracing isn't an option at the moment. I'm not willing to pay every year / 2 years to play.

Does anyone have opinions and tips & tricks for a beginner?
    Is the wheel and game something you'd recommend, or are there better options?
    How does multiplayer work in this game? Can I join a server and race, or do I need to sign up for organized races?
    How do I sign up for organized races, and is it free?

I'm not totally new to sim racing though. I have played Motocross simulators basically my whole life. I know how much time I need to spend into the game to get somewhat decent.

Thanks in advance.

2. bwana

bwana Registered

Welcome, good reports from friends l know with that wheel so for the price a good choice . There is a beta DX 11 version of the game which eventually will be the standard and vastly improves graphics ( not all cars and tracks have been updated to DX 11 at present) mp is not hugely populated outside leagues but no doubt numbers will increase eventually.. leagues are very good for regular races and practice sessions leading up to races often populated.. to find leagues google is your friend or online section of these forums ..leagues are almost always free to join and attend races . Enjoy

3. peterchen

peterchen Registered