Need help with GUI extension.

Discussion in 'User Interface and HUD Modding' started by TheRexorcist, Jun 19, 2016.

1. TheRexorcist

TheRexorcist Registered

Hi guys,

I have been playing rF2 for a couple of days now, so I'm not a veteran or anything, but I've been playing Gran Turismo across all systems for an eternity. For me, and you may disagree, the part of video game racing that was giving me the most joy were the Gran Turismo "Time Trials", and I think rF2 is lacking in that department. In other words: I've spent countless nights battling my friends on the various PlayStation systems (offline only) until the sun came up, and I'd like to get the same experience with rF2.

Since I'm a software developer, I gathered some resources over the last couple of days and wrote a little plugin which would track hot lap times and store them in a SQLite database. It's all nice and dandy, but for this implementation to satisfy all my needs, I have to modify the rF2 GUI, and I'm completely lost in that aspect. I've been looking into the various .MAS files, and I can't get my head around it for the life of me.

SO HERE'S MY QUESTION: What do I have to do in order to integrate a little list box (containing driver names, for example) in the pre-race monitor where I could select which one of my friends is actually driving? In other words: I just need to find a way to create a new gizmo/widget/whatever displaying a few strings, and then I'd like to pass the selected string to an internal structure to track which driver is actually controlling the car in each session.

I was playing around with the .MAS files with a lot of enthusiasm, but it didn't get me anywhere. Within the .MAS files (within the UI.OSC files, actually) there are sections like RunCode="foobar", but I have no idea how I can connect these items to my plugin code. Does anybody have any pointers for me?