LOW FPS With 7870

Discussion in 'Technical Archives' started by Motor-Mad-96, Sep 7, 2012.

1. Motor-Mad-96

Motor-Mad-96 Registered

I updated my build to 107 the other day and when i started playing i can only get around 25FPS in practice with no A.I. I am running on max settings at 1080p with an AMD 7870. This card should not have any problems running this game, my old gtx 470 ran it perfectly. Why am i getting such low FPS? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

2. Abriel Nei

Abriel Nei Registered

If you have any issues after updating I recommend uninstalling rF2 and performing a clean install instead.

3. Motor-Mad-96

Motor-Mad-96 Registered

Oh sorry, i forgot to say i also tried a clean install and it didn't work. :(

Edit: I also tried numerous drivers and non of them soled my problem.

Last edited by a moderator: Sep 7, 2012
  4. kro388th

kro388th Registered

This is not the first time ive read about guys with this newer card getting low fps , I have the 6970 with the 12.8 drivers and see (mp 20+ drivers) solid 70 up to mid 90'd fps settings near max with 8xAA HDR on FXAA on and anisotropic x16 ,this after a clean install of 107...
    My first try I did the 'update' my frames were down in the low 30's ;-(down from solid 60 on build 101 vsync set to vid, the fresh install fixed it for me now I use NO vsync at all and get the big jump in fps and stays smooth, with earlyer builds i could have pauses and stutter w/o vsync , I ran the uninstall and also manualy deleted all the rf2 folders n files then did a restart on the pc , saving the .rfactor file in appdata/roaming .. reinstalling all the mods again, new plr ectt... I read in the "build 107 download" thread about rebuilding the shaders helping some guys with the "update" but a fresh install should do the trick ,I wonder if you have a bottleneck some where in your sys ?? dont know but that card should be pumping out some nice frames one would think ???

5. Motor-Mad-96

Motor-Mad-96 Registered