Lap time differences Controller vs Wheel?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Daza_NZ, Jun 17, 2017.

1. Daza_NZ

Daza_NZ Registered

Ok so im new to the scene. I hope this doesn't evoke lots of eye rolling and perhaps troll comments, or causes someone to have a cardiac arrest from laughter (if that is possible). With an average player/racer in mind who uses a wheel and can put down good lap times what kind of lap time difference would they expect to get if they (did this for a challenge or their wheel was broke) used a gamepad controller set up best as it can? would they be 3-4 seconds off the pace or much more?

Im just interested to know and i'm sure the differences would vary to player to player and those who perhaps has sunken a lot of track time with a gamepad controller. I'm not suggesting a debate about which is better because the wheel would always win. But just curious to know if you had a top driver/player switch to a controller for a day and what the lap differences would actually be. Might make for an interesting video experiment if there isn't already one out there. Or a top player race with one against mid range players on a wheel.

2. peterchen

peterchen Registered

While you have simply much finer and more defined control with a wheel, everything is possible!
    I have a friend who used to race rF1 with me and he used a gamepad. After much practice and some races he was as fast as me!
    It´s the same with every controller in the end: practice, practice, practice - then you get fast!

3. Daza_NZ

Daza_NZ Registered