Is there no interest in the 60's F1 cars?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Ricknau, May 26, 2012.

  1. breeze55a

    breeze55a Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thats because the suckers are scary.

    Man now that the graphics are better, I tried another lap with these machines and they scared me even more! Everytime I sit at my wheel and try to drive these things the way I drive every thing else. I think of the guys who drove them for real. I just want to know how they got the family jewels they had to have in that little cockpit!
     
  2. Racefreak1976

    Racefreak1976 Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,086
    Likes Received:
    62
    What!? I never even knew it's been released! I was still waiting for it until today! :rolleyes:
     
  3. osella

    osella Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    864
    Likes Received:
    26
  4. Rich Goodwin

    Rich Goodwin Registered

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    8
  5. jubuttib

    jubuttib Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    934
    Likes Received:
    7
    1, obviously. He did say it was released 10 months ago. =)
     
  6. Racefreak1976

    Racefreak1976 Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,086
    Likes Received:
    62
  7. osella

    osella Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    864
    Likes Received:
    26
    I don't see why it's too late.. even if Targa was already in rf2, there are no suitable cars for it yet. Anything modern, and it doesnt fit there. 60s F1 doesnt fit there either, because it was never for open wheelers.
    This track need historic GTs & touring cars, hence rf1 is perfect fot it =)

    I think the authors said it will be converted for rf2, but it sure will take a long, long time.

    Oh, and then there are system requirements, in rf1 this track already pushes my hd5770 to absolute limit (read: with max shadows I have 15fps) so should it be in rf2, you'd need total highend super PC.
     
  8. jjcook

    jjcook Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    52
     
  9. F2Chump

    F2Chump Registered

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    7
    I have a 4yr old dualcore and a 6850 and rf2 looks pretty good to me at 1920x1200...I don't have everything maxed, but the car models are quiet beautiful and the evolving track looks the part,
     
  10. osella

    osella Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    864
    Likes Received:
    26
    I think you miss my point, the thing is that this track - targa florio - is already so power hungry in rf1. I have comparable fps on targa in rf1 with a small track on rf2. Hence, when targa will come to rf2, something like 6850 will only enough for the lowest details probably.
     
  11. 1959nikos

    1959nikos Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    3,915
    Likes Received:
    83
    what a place though!!!
    I only managed just 1 lap with a Stratos in GPL but what an experience!!!
     
  12. F2Chump

    F2Chump Registered

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    7
    Why do you guys keep talking ****....I complained about the state of b69 and b85 justified my exact thoughts, ie, the physics were incomplete and then rectified, and given that 60's are due for an update, I hope the absurd power spike is addressed.
     
  13. F2Chump

    F2Chump Registered

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    7
    Well I'm due for a new PC next yr, so I'll make sure I've got the GPU/CPU grunt for it.
     
  14. DrR1pper

    DrR1pper Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    3,286
    Likes Received:
    23
    I'm very interest in the f1's only it's too soon to jump in the fastest cars.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 29, 2012
  15. liebestod

    liebestod Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    2
    I did a bunch of sub-4:30 laps in the F3s tonight around Spa, many of which were 4:22s. What is the fastest lap possible? I was more or less floored the whole time at my best pace.

    I did F2s for a while but it's a lot more challenging. I'll break 4:00 soon enough.
     
  16. DurgeDriven

    DurgeDriven Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Messages:
    6,320
    Likes Received:
    42
    4:16 no tow with good track rubber.
     
  17. liebestod

    liebestod Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hahhaha no way. No way. I believe you, but I would love to see a replay. One thing I really like about this genre is that any time I think I have done anything well, someone can come and stomp all over it.

    4:16. Were you in 5th gear the entire time?
     
  18. DurgeDriven

    DurgeDriven Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Messages:
    6,320
    Likes Received:
    42

    Come to F3-ROOKIES * Training

    np we have 6-7 drivers do 4:16 out of 160

    Yes Spa is 95% full throttle in F3.
    Francois Solbrig 4:16.2 is room record ( no tow)

    My PB is 4:16.4

    There is a big difference between a "Green" and a "well rubbered" Track ;)
     
  19. F2Chump

    F2Chump Registered

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    7
    I was there, I think DD did a 4m20, so 16 could be a possibility given the right track conditions.
     
  20. liebestod

    liebestod Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    2
    Alright, I'll try to drop by sometime soon.

    I cannot imagine how it is possible to cut off 6 more seconds, but I know it is. I'm going to have to get a huge pot of coffee brewing in advance....
     

Share This Page