Increase poly count of rfactor 1 track for real road.

Discussion in 'Track Modding' started by negb, Mar 7, 2014.

1. negb

negb Registered

Ok I have been researching on how to increase poly count of the race surface to be used with real road and I just can't seem to find anything on this. I see plenty of tutorials out there to decrease the poly count but that's about all I can find. I'm still learning about 3dsmax and have found modifiers like turbosmooth but the pattern looks incorrect from what I see in other conversions. Could anyone shed some light on what I need to be doing to get this correct?

2. lordpantsington

lordpantsington Registered

In the process of this myself. I'm deconstructing the track to a center line with cross-sections, and my first go at recreating the surface will be with a 2 rail surface using NURBS. I could do a quick and dirty loft, but I'm also trying to preserve the cambers/bumps/cross section changes if there are any modeled.

3. wgeuze

wgeuze Registered

Checking other conversions to see what might be correct isn't really the way to go I think. I suggest you look at ISI tracks instead.

Turbo smooth should be going alright depending on how the road surface is built. If there are a lot of triangles, unwelded vertices, potholes cut in, white lines cut in diagonally, you're gong to have a bad time indeed. Make sure the surface is cleaned up
    before smoothing.

4. Mario Morais

Mario Morais Registered

First need to remove triangles Use quadify in Graphite tools
    After get quads in edit poly can use connect or tessellate.

5. negb

negb Registered